Find UK Tuition

Philip Ockelford - Guitar Tutor in Halstead, Essex

Philip Ockelford Electric Guitar Teacher (Colchester)

Philip Ockelford Gold Member

  • Halstead (CO9) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Dec 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.playyourguitar.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Babergh, Chelmsford, Colchester, Maldon, South Cambridgeshire, St Edmundsbury, Uttlesford
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Rather than teaching to a rigid, inflexible curriculum, Play Your Guitar prefers to work with you, tailoring tution to your needs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach guitar (acoustic, electric, bass), ukulele, music theory, live performance (whether it's just you or perhaps your band as a whole), music recording and production.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have no paper qualifications. However, I have been playing since 1994, performing since 2000, and teaching since 2003.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught in state schools (under the auspices of both Essex and Suffolk County Councils), private schools, and academies; I have continuously taught privately as well. As a consequence, I have taught, and continue to teach students aged 6 to 60, and beyond. I also have experience of teaching students with physical disabilities (for example, one student is registered blind), and learning difficulties. I have been performing live since 2000, playing in a number of bands and duos, both electric and acoustic. I have experience of settings from intimate gigs up to full-blown festival stages, and all points inbetween. I also have a lot of time in recording studios, and have supplemented this with studies of recording and production accordingly.
How much do you charge?
I charge £25 per hour or £15 for 30 minutes. Longer sessions can be negotiated accordingly.
Where do you teach?
I teach from home in a purpose-built, acoustically treated studio; students need only bring their instruments and themselves, as everything else is supplied. If suitable to both our diaries, I can also travel to student's homes. I live in North Essex (the nearest town is Halstead), but this means that I can cover the top half of Essex, the bottom half of Suffolk, and some of Cambridgeshire (out as far as Cambridge). Further than this would be more costly, otherwise it becomes economically unviable.
When are you available?
Monday - Thursday 10am-9pm
Friday - Saturday 10am - 6pm
Sunday On agreement

I teach throughout the school holidays, although I do stop over the Christmas and New Year holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
The youngest I will teach is 6 years old, so long as a student can read and count; beyond that, all ages, and all abilities. Beginners are a speciality of mine.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Whatever they require; in my experience, most students tend to go for Rockschool qualifications. I have experience of all the grades; indeed, I have prepped some students for Grade 8 on the basis that it was a requirement of their university application.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Where and with whom did you train?
Eric Roche, Guitar Institute Of Technology, London
Tell me about some of your current students.
My students are a mixture of school students (typically aged 12-19) and private students, ranging from primary school age to mature adults. Abilities are from outright beginner to long-term player, and range from learning for fun through to working for qualifications or employment.