Find UK Tuition

Guitar Teacher Muswell Hill

Josh Geffin Folk Guitar Teacher (North London)

Josh Geffin

  • Muswell Hill (N10) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 30 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Camden, City of London, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Westminster
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Inspiring bespoke guitar lessons for all ages from expert tutor with over 10 years experience.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach all styles and genres of guitar, with a specialism in acoustic folk fingerstyle. As well as guitar, I teach beginner level in mandolin, ukulele, and bass guitar. I also teach songwriting.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons) Music (First Class)
What kind of experience do you have?
I am an accomplished guitarist with over ten years’ experience as a peripatetic guitar tutor. I have performed at the Barbican Centre, Southbank Centre, Royal Albert Hall and my music has been placed on ITV, Channel 4 and Sky. I currently teach for The DaCapo Music Foundation, Christchurch School Chelsea, and privately. I hold a first class degree in Music and am trained in the Kodaly method for music teaching by DaCapo.

I have a proven track record of planning and delivering lessons for a wide range of abilities, ages and styles, and am highly experienced in developing resources for my students. I have a flexible and student-centred approach, tailoring lessons to the enthusiasms of students while also integrating musicianship skills, formal technique and improvisation. Throughout the year I prepare students for concerts in schools and take pupils through exams with Trinity, LCM, Rock School and ABRSM.
How much do you charge?
£40 per hour, includes travel within Muswell Hill and the local area. I charge extra to travel to further afield.
Where do you teach?
I usually visit students' homes. I am available to teach in Muswell Hill, Camden, Barnet, Stoke Newington, Kensington & Chelsea, Haringey and surrounding areas.
When are you available?
My schedule is flexible. I currently have availability on Mondays and Thursdays but other days may be possible. Please get in touch for more information.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages and levels.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I am happy to work through exam syllabuses with students.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype for online tutoring.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have a wide range of students, from 7-year-olds learning simple folk melodies to adults learning popular songs or studying jazz and blues.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am passionate about inspiring people of all ages and abilities to develop a love for music.