Find UK Tuition

Spanish & French Tutor in Marlborough, Devizes, Bath - Guy

Guy Mavor A-level Spanish Tutor (Swindon)

Guy Mavor Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons French and Spanish, Bristol, 2:1
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Oxon, Modern Languages
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Currently working as teacher so DBS cleared
  • Professional Membership ATL, Society of Authors
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I was a French and Spanish teacher for ten years, for IGCSE, A level, Pre U and IB. I now run my own resource-publishing and editorial business, but I continue a connection with teaching in a tutorial capacity and as an examiner for CIE.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
French, Spanish, Theory of Knowledge, Journalism, general essay-writing (in French and Spanish, but also English). I am also an experienced historical researcher, having begun a study on 19th century Argentina, and a copywriter / journalist.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Modern Languages Degree (French and Spanish) - University of Bristol
PGCE (Modern Languages) - Oxford University
Early stages of a PhD - University of Bristol
What kind of experience do you have?
10 years' experience teaching French and Spanish in leading private schools, which also involved tutoring on essay-writing and study skills, teaching journalistic and editorial skills and teaching Theory of Knowledge on the IB. Experience of most exam boards. I was previously a translator and sports writer/editor covering Spanish football, as well as travel guide writer.
How much do you charge?
£30-£45 per hour, depending on travel costs and subject. Discounts available for group lessons, and for follow-up tutorials on Skype.
Where do you teach?
I live between Marlborough, Pewsey and Devizes, but travel regularly to London, Bath and Bristol. Tutoring is therefore possible in these locations, but I am less flexible on times - I will have to arrange several tutorials in a row to make it viable. I can teach at home or at students' homes.
When are you available?
All year - flexible hours (i.e. I can do evenings and many weekends) to fit around my business and family, as well as holidays (generally not available second half of August, but other school holidays are possible). Travel to Bath, Bristol and London only feasible if I arrange a series of tutorials.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11-23+ (Secondary to graduate).
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, IGCSE (Cambridge and Edexcel), AS and A2 levels (AQA, Edexcel and others), Pre U, IB Language B, EFL, French and Spanish undergraduate degrees - for language work, cultural topics and general essay-writing. I am comfortable with a range of cultural topics in both languages.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor on Skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Association of Teachers and Lecturers.
Society of Authors.
Where and with whom did you train?
Oxford University, Department of Educational Studies.
Tell me about some of your current students.
A wide range of students, from EFL students of 11 to undergraduates looking to work on their translation skills, A level students and adult students looking for specific managerial and transactional language.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a helpful, enabling person, and understand the difficulties encountered in learning a language, particularly for an exam, having taught a wide range of abilities in the past 10 years. But I also know that you can feel satisfaction at 'getting it', as well as a sense that a language is a usable, lifelong skill. I will make you work hard rather than do it for you, but my aim is for you to feel proud of your progress and confident at the end of the tutorial process.