Find UK Tuition

Handwriting/ English Tutor N Manchester/ Salford - Anne

Anne Rockley Handwriting Tutor (Manchester)

Anne Rockley

  • Broughton (M7)
  • Last Logged In: 05 Jan 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Rochdale, Trafford, Warrington & Lymm, Wigan
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an Occupational Therapist with many years experience in working with children in hospital, community, preschool, mainstream and special schools. I have worked in church youth groups, and been a Playgroup Leader during my career breaks.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My specialist subject is handwriting. I have discovered many children struggling with coordination, dexterity and visual perception. Difficulty with painful pen grip and untidy writing can result. With the appropriate targeted help, most pupils are able to make visible improvement in a relatively short period. I recently included English tuition as a follow-on to handwriting, ensuring continuation of newly learned skills in a relevant setting. This has proved interesting and successful.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have 10 O levels and 4 A levels including English. I gained a Diploma in Occupational Therapy in 1978.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have many years experience in assessing children's coordination, visual perception and graphomotor skills. From this I would identify areas of difficulty, devise plans to manage or improve these, liaising with parents, teachers and other medical staff as required. My caseload has included children with varying types and degrees of difficulty including dyspraxia, attention problems, neurological and autistic spectrum disorders. I enjoyed training teachers and assistants, and worked in playgroup and church youth groups.
How much do you charge?
Fees are £32 per hour face to face teaching in local area.
Where do you teach?
I teach in the North Manchester/ Salford /Bury area, and am willing to travel to Bolton, Wigan and Oldham at extra fuel costs. I usually travel to pupils homes, but can use my own home if this is more suitable.
When are you available?
I am available on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday 3.30 - 8.00 pm and Saturday 9.00 - 12.30 am. School holiday booster sessions are available.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach English to Key Stage 3, and Handwriting to age 18.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a valid CRB disclosure certificate.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Recent students include an 11 year old boy with Asperger's Syndrome, short attention span and dyslexia, two 13 year old boys with English comprehension difficulties, a 13 year old with painful, untidy writing, a 7 year old girl needing to develop handwriting technique, and two 10 year old boys needing to develop their writing (technique and quality) and comprehension for secondary school. A boy with cerebral palsy has occasional sessions as required.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I'd like to say that writing doesn't have to be a pain! I can help you to get more neat and comfortable handwriting and get your ideas down on paper. Lessons will be as interesting as I can make them, with prizes for your effort!