Find UK Tuition

Hannah - English Tuition & Essay Writing Tuition in London

Hannah Knight GCSE English Tutor (North London)

Hannah Knight Gold Member

  • Harringay (N4) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 14 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Enfield, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Newham, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Oxon) English Language and Literature
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Current Enhanced DBS Check
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Experienced Oxford graduate who believes in tutoring with passion, empathy and kindness.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English Language and Literature (KS3, GCSE, AS Level, A Level and Undergraduate), Literacy and Composition (KS2), Essay Writing (all levels), Exam Technique and University Preparation including Personal Statements and interviews.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated from St. Catherine's College, Oxford with a BA in English Language and Literature. I have A Levels in English, Clаssicаl Civilisаtiоn аnd Histоry (аll A grаde) and 10 GCSEs (аll аt A* grаde). I have a youth helpline qualification that includes active listening. I am trained to deliver workshops to young people and to mentor younger children. I am a qualified youth mental health first aider.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have eight years' full-time experience in the education and tutoring sector. I have tutored over 80 individual students aged 10-22 years old in this country and abroad as well as delivering interactive workshops to 2000 young people across the UK.

My past experience includes 2 and a half years as COO for an organisation that specialised in supporting students applying for Oxbridge and Russell Group universities. In this role, I designed and delivered interview preparation workshops to some of the most prestigious schools in the country.

I have worked with many families for a number of years, supporting students through the school system from KS3 to GCSE and on to A Levels and University. I believe in listening to young people and working with them.

Nurturing the emotional wellbeing, as well as the academic potential, of young people is central to my approach. I have 1000 hours' experience supporting young people in crisis on a national helpline. I have mentoring training through the charity, Chance UK and I am a qualified youth mental health first aider. I also developed ThinkWell, a workshop that combines film and learning to empower young people to talk about mental health and and reach out for help if they need it.

I have anonymised testimonials to protect the confidentiality of my clients but original copies are available on request.
How much do you charge?
I charge from £50 per hour which includes travel expenses (zones 1-6) and handouts. I charge additional travel expenses for addresses outside of London. I am willing to discuss discounts for longer lessons, group lessons and households with multiple children.

Online lessons start from £45 per hour.

I am also able to offer reduced fees for any families who qualify for Free School Meals. (Please get in touch if this applies to you).
Where do you teach?
I provide in-home tuition anywhere in London (zones 1-6) and further afield by request. All of my tuition is supportive, interactive and highly personalised.
When are you available?
I'm now taking advance bookings for weekday evening and weekend slots from September 2017.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students aged 10-18+ year olds from KS3 through GCSE, AS and A Level up to Undergraduate level. I also offer help with University applications including Personal Statements and Interviews (particularly for Russell Group and Oxbridge).
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE English, GCSE English Language, GCSE English Literature - OCR, AQA, Edexcel, WJEC.
IGCSE English Language, IGCSE English Literature- CIE, Cambridge, Edexcel
AS Level - English Language and/or English Literature- OCR, AQA, Edexcel
A2 Level-English Language and/or English Literature- OCR, AQA, Edexcel
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current Enhanced DBS Check- copy on request.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use a webcam for online tutoring and also offer email support. My online lessons are very similar to my in-person lessons. I use the same teaching methods and send lesson resources ahead of sessions. I offer online tutoring via Skype or Facetime depending on which is most convenient for the student.
Where and with whom did you train?
I have completed a 28 hour training programme with a national youth helpline that included active listening and risk assessment. I have also trained with a pioneering education charity to deliver kinaesthetic, interactive workshops to 11-25 year olds. More recently, I have completed mentor training with a national children's charity.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I tutor students across London, the South-East and abroad (via Skype). I am currently working with students ranging from KS2, through to GCSE, A Level and beyond. All of my students have different needs and I enjoy creatively adapting lessons to match each individual.

My students range from those aiming for A*'s to others who want to improve their reading skills and they come from a range of different educational backgrounds. I have tutored students at state schools, grammar schools, independent schools and the lycée.
Do you have a personal message for students?
If you are feeling anxious about revision, want to brush up on your essay skills or just want to improve your English then please get in touch. I'll spend time listening to your concerns and will create personalised lessons to support your progress. Please do get in touch if you have any questions and I will be very happy to help you.