Find UK Tuition

Heather T - Business English/IELTS/CAE Tutor in South Glos/Bristol

Heather T Business English Teacher (Bristol)

Heather T

  • Parkwall (BS30) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 20 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I believe that 1:1 teaching should be tailored for the needs of the student and be challenging. I will do this for you, whether you wish to study Business, General or Exam English.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
EFL
Business English
Exam English - First (FCE), Advanced (CAE) and IELTS
Key stage 2-4 English incl. GCSE English Language
Tell me about your qualifications.
CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults)
Bilingual Secretarial Diploma
Certificate in Education (post-compulsory)
Cert IBET (Distinction) - specialist Business English teaching certificate (Trinity/English UK)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have several years experience of teaching ESOL in college, community and workplace venues, as well as EFL, Business English and exam preparation in college and on a 1:1 basis. In the holiday periods, I often teach homestay students (teenagers and adults) who come and live in our home, whilst I teach them intensively and take them on trips.

I am used to teaching 15+ EFL/ESOL and also primary school children, whose parents want them to have some individual tuition to improve their English. Over the last year, I have taught Business clients who have relocated to the UK from other parts of Europe and need to improve their English for Business and social purposes.
How much do you charge?
£25 per hour in my home or at your workplace/home, if the journey by car is less than 15 minutes each way. I hope you will understand that I need to charge more for longer distances or rush hour journeys.

My minimum lesson duration is 1.5 hours face-to-face and I recommend 1 hour slots for online tuition.

Please note: the above price is for 1:1 lessons. For additional students (at a similar level of English) or for small groups, the cost per hour will be higher and I will quote on demand.
Where do you teach?
I teach in my own home and at your home or workplace if practical and required. My home is close to Emersons Green Science Park, Keynsham, Downend, Fishponds, Staple Hill, Frenchay, Saltford, Bitton and Hanham. I am willing to travel locally - no more than 20 minutes each way, for no extra charge, schedule and time of day dependent.
When are you available?
My availability is variable, daytime or early evening, finishing no later than 8 p.m.

Sunday is my day off.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Adults - general, exam, in-company and business
15+
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
First (FCE)
Advanced (CAE)
IELTS
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to teach online and find the Zoom platform very useful for this purpose. Alternatively, I can teach by Skype or Face Time.
Where and with whom did you train?
Polytechnic of Wales (Bilingual Secretarial Diploma)
City of Bristol College (Cert Ed and CELTA)
EMB (Cert IBET)
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students are:
- a Polish person who is living and working in the UK and wants English to help her communicate better with colleagues and other English native speakers
- a Polish beautician wishing to improve her English to communicate with clients and generally for survival
- two Polish engineers trying to improve their English for work and life in general
- two Polish teenagers (one online and one face-to-face)
- a Spanish engineer who wants to improve his English for meetings, presentations and reports at work
- some Russian and Chinese students that I am teaching online, for speaking purposes and IELTS preparation
- 2 teenagers preparing for GCSE English; 2 x Year 10s; 1 Y5, Y6 and Y8
In the last couple of years, I have worked with a Hungarian businessman preparing for the Cambridge Advanced exam (he passed) and improving his Business English for work purposes, as well as an Italian man preparing for IELTS in order to apply for a place at university and a British man preparing for General IELTS. Four of my students took IELTS in spring/summer 2016 and got the scores they needed.
Do you have a personal message for students?
If you have any more questions about what I can offer you, please ask me. It doesn't cost anything to ask me a question!