Find UK Tuition

Helder - Biology/ Maths/ Chemistry Tutor in Crouch End

Helder A-level Biology Tutor (North London)

Helder Gold Member

  • Crouch End (N8)
  • Last Logged In: 14 Feb 2017
  • Sex: Male

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification Medicine (MBBS) and Molecular Stucture (BSc) 1st Class
  • Professional Qualification Completing PhD in Pathology
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I very much enjoy science and would like to pass on my enthusiasm for it. I feel that having carried out research first-hand, I can make the theoretical aspects of science easier to relate to, and so make it more enjoyable to learn about.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, 11+ and other school entrance exams
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a medical degree as well as a BSc in Molecular structure. I have recently completed a PhD in Pathology in the area of type II diabetes.
What kind of experience do you have?
For the last two years, I have taught in a science summer school for A-level students. This involved helping students to explore themes related to space travel and to design an experiment to be carried out in space, with the best experiment chosen to be performed on the International Space Station.

During my PhD studies I was involved in laboratory practical lessons aimed at giving A-level students an experience of what it would be like to study medicine and biomedical sciences. In particular I was responsible for guiding students through a practical that involved carrying out an experiment for determining whether students had a gene required for tasting bitterness. This involved them using various solutions to isolate DNA from their own cells.

I have also led laboratory practical sessions in bacteriology for Medical Students at Oxford University.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 pounds per hour and do not charge travel fees.
Where do you teach?
I can teach in Crouch End, Muswell Hill, Highgate, Finsbury Park, Wood Green, Archway, Holloway Road, Tufnell Park, Caledonian Road and Turnpike Lane.
When are you available?
I am available 7 days a week, during the day and in the evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach a range of ages starting from seven through to A-level students and can also provide tuition for university students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSEs, A-Level, 11+ and other school entrance exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am available for Skype tutorials.