Find UK Tuition

Helen Duff - English / Economics Tuition in East / Central London

Helen Duff A-level English Tutor (North London)

Helen Duff Gold Member

  • Clapton (N16) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Dec 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Haringey, Islington, Newham, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA English Literature, University of Cambridge (2.1)
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) Professional Acting, LAMDA
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB checked
  • Professional Membership Keystone tutors, Bespoke Tutors, Oxbridge Applications, Blues Tutors
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I tutor because it allows me the opportunity to enliven learning every day. Helping students make sense of a subject is of course the primary aim; helping them to enjoy it is a brilliant added bonus!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English and Maths from 8 years upwards. I also tutor Economics at A level standard and help eager drama students in preparing for their Lamda exams.
Tell me about your qualifications.
B.A. English, Cambridge University (2.1);
A-Levels: English Literature (A), History (A), Economics(A).

Vocational:
I have a B.A(Hons) in Professional Acting from LAMDA (London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art), and have studied physical theatre and clowning at L'Ecole Philippe Gaulier in Paris. When I'm not tutoring I tour stand up comedy shows to major comedy festivals - Edinburgh, Melbourne etc and record audio books as well as ELT resources.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been a tutor for 9 years, starting whilst studying, and tutoring a wide range of abilities including students with dyslexia. Students of mine have gone on to gain A grades at A Level and are starting at Oxford and Cambridge this autumn. I have also helped younger students gain a place at their target schools post 11+ with success across all the major schools in London.
How much do you charge?
£45 p/h

Travel up to £6 further than 6 miles from N16. PLEASE INCLUDE DETAILS OF ADDRESS ON FIRST CONTACT.
Cancellation fee of the lesson rate for a cancellation with less than 24hrs notice.
1 extra student = £10 p/h
Where do you teach?
East London / North London / Central London
At my home, in students' homes or in coffee-shops, as preferred.
When are you available?
Very flexible to students' needs. Weekends and weekdays, plus after school and all vacations.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
KS3, GCSE, A-level; teenagers and adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
KS1, 2, 3, Common Entrance exams, GCSE, A level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have tutored students in Hong Kong, Shanghai, UAE and America over Skype with great results. Most recently a student being educated in UAE won a place at South Hampstead school.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Keystone Tutors; Bespoke Tutors; Oxbridge Applications.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Because every student responds differently to tutoring I tailor my style to fit each individual. My students and I overcome areas of real difficulty most effectively when they trust me. I hope to gain a tutee's confidence so that learning can become fun and collaborative, rather than a trial which is totally focused on testing.