Find UK Tuition

Hilary - French, German & Spanish lessons in Newcastle and Tyneside

Hilary Temperley French (general) Tutor (Newcastle upon Tyne)

Hilary Temperley Silver Member

  • Central Dudley (NE13) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 12 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons (2:1) in French, German and Economic Studies
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Secondary Teaching University of Newcastle -upon-Tyne
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Last DBS checked in March 2015
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
As a secondary teacher with experience of adult education and private tuition, I believe that competence in one or more foreign languages is very important for academic,work and leisure purposes.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French, German and Spanish.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons) 2:1 in French, German and Economic Studies (University of Northumbria) with distinction in spoken German
'A' Level Spanish (Grade A)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught languages for 30 years both within the State and Independent sectors up to GCSE and 'A' Level.
I have also taught adult evening classes within Newcastle and North Tyneside, as well as doing private tuition within my local area.
How much do you charge?
I generally charge between £25 per hour for individual tuition in my own home or £28 in the home of the tutee up to and including GCSE. For 'A' level tuition I charge between £30 and £33 per hour.
I would prefer to teach within a radius of 10-15 miles from my home.
I would offer reduced rates for small groups.
I am also willing to teach within businesses and have experience in this area.
Where do you teach?
I am willing to teach either in my own home or in the home of the student or at a workplace.
I prefer to teach north of the Tyne within 10-15 miles of Newcastle but am willing to discuss other options.
When are you available?
I am currently available during the day and in the evenings Monday to Thursday (except Monday evenings)
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach ages 11-18 up to GCSE and 'A' Level.
I am also happy to tutor adults and older Primary age children.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE/IGCSE in French, German and Spanish. 'A' Level French and German.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I have a valid DBS certificate.
Where and with whom did you train?
I did my PGCE in Secondary Modern Languages at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have recently tutored students for GCSE and 'A' level French and German as well as younger students beginning their studies of French, German and Spanish.
I have also tutored adults at a variety of levels on an individual basis in French, Spanish and German for the purposes of pleasure and business, as well as a group of business people in local firms.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am friendly and understand the needs of students as I have experience of a range of GCSE/IGCSE and 'A' level syllabuses in Languages.
I consider the work that I do with students to be a partnership, and would expect that they put as much effort into this as I do in order to make good progress.
My approach is centred on the individual targets and ability of my students.