Find UK Tuition

Dr Janet Rose - History / English Tutor in Wiltshire,Somerset & Online

Dr Janet Rose A-level History Tutor (Bath)

Dr Janet Rose Gold Member

  • Westbury (BA13) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Aug 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification DPhil University of Oxford, MSt University of Oxford
  • Professional Qualification CTTLS
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Offering AQA, CIE, OCR, Edexcel, Oxford HAT, Scholarship exams
  • Professional Membership The Tutors' Association Member, Society of Editors & Proofreaders Member, The Historical Association Member
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
70% of my A-level students achieve A* or A grade. I'm an Oxford University graduate and a full-time professional tutor with many years experience.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
History, English Language, English Literature, Academic Writing, Entrance exams. I also offer academic proof reading for essays, dissertations, theses and articles. I teach 'How to get an A* in History' workshops and Writing Workshops at a purpose-built classroom in Wiltshire. I am available as a speaker at events.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a DPhil from Oxford University in History. I've uploaded samples of work from my thesis on my profile - just click on the links.
I also have a Master's Degree from Oxford and an Undergraduate Qualification from Oxford.
I am currently training with Cambridge International Examinations (CIE)
For teacher training I did the CTTLS course, as I wanted to concentrate on teaching older teenagers and adults. I have completed several university short courses in English and keep up to date with Continuing Professional Development.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have tutored very successfully for 12 years. 70% of A level students achieve A* or A. The average grade increase for a regular student over a full academic year is 3 grades (e.g C to A) but some students have improved by 6 grades (e.g. E to A*)

Are you struggling with your studies? I have worked with students of all abilities - from those who need a GCSE resit, to Oxbridge entrants and PhD students. I have worked in schools and colleges as a class teacher and as a learning mentor.

Are you home schooled? I have taught over 1,000 hours to home-schooled students. I can provide a complete GCSE or A-level course adapted for home students, or I can support you if you are working through the books on your own.
How much do you charge?
The prices on my profile are a guideline and may vary according to location.
I am happy to offer a free 30 minute introductory meeting or a 30 minute Skype session to discuss aims or an individual tutoring plan.
Where do you teach?
I teach internationally online to Hong Kong, Singapore, Europe including Germany, Austria, Italy, Kuwait and the USA. I teach online throughout the UK including London, Surrey, Hertfordshire, Windsor, Cheltenham, Edinburgh and Cardiff.

I teach from my home in a small village near Westbury, Wiltshire. Students come to me from Trowbridge, Frome, Chippenham, Melksham, Warminster, Devizes, Bath, Salisbury, Swindon, Bradford on Avon, Calne, Corsham, Bristol and Gloucester. I have online students from all over the UK and the world.

I offer ‘How to get an A* in History'’ Workshops and Writing Workshops for small groups in a purpose-built private classroom in Wiltshire, near Chippenham.
When are you available?
I tutor Monday to Friday. I am available morning, afternoon and evening.

'How to Get an A* in History' Workshops and Writing Workshops are available Saturdays or in the school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
The majority of my students are in the 14 to 19 age group and attend for GCSE and A-level. Every year there is a demand from the 18 to 21 age group for university entrance, especially to Oxbridge. I also tutor a number of adult learners, most of whom are at university as mature students.

I am very happy to accept Home Educators and Adult Learners. I have been working extensively with home-educated students during the last 6 years.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, AS, A level, Pre-U, International Baccalaureate, undergraduate degree, post-graduate degree, entrance exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor online by Skype or Zoom video conferencing and I have students across the UK, Europe, in Hong Kong, China, Singapore and the US. I prefer to use Zoom which provides us with a virtual classroom including whiteboard and file sharing. I can record the sessions for you and send them after the tutorial, so you can simply rewind and go over the detail again as many times as you like. Skype tutoring has also been really successful over the past year and has helped many students prepare for exams and university. I enjoy tutoring online and I find we can usually get more work done than with a face-to-face tutorial.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Tutors' Association, The Historical Association, The Society for Editors & Proofreaders
Where and with whom did you train?
University of Oxford
University of Cambridge
Tell me about some of your current students.
Hong Kong home-schooled student who is taking CIE 9389 History A level. We work online, where I am delivering the entire A level. We meet 2 to 3 times per week.

Singapore student who originally studied CIE iGCSE English Literature and Language exams with me. He is now taking IB English. We work online and I am supporting his school studies. We meet 2 times per week. I will also be tutoring his friend for IB English in September.

UK home-educated History student taking CIE 9389 History. She comes to my home and we meet 2 times per week. I am delivering the entire A level.

A-level AQA History student in the UK. He is too far away to come to tutorials so we work online. I am supporting him with his studies and we aim to raise his grade.

A-level AQA History Student in the UK. He comes to my home and I support him with his school studies.

Master's degree History student who is working on his dissertation. His first degree is not in History so he is coming to me for research-skills and academic writing skills. We meet as and when he needs sessions.

PhD student who is working on his (absolutely fascinating) thesis. He is not a historian but I help by proof reading his work and supporting his research.

Cambridge Pre-U student who is at a leading independent school but is struggling with analytical essays. We meet online 1x per week.

Another Cambridge Pre-U student who needs help with structure and 'filling in the gaps.' He is at independent school in the UK. We meet online 1X per week.

GCSE English Language student who needs some help with exam skills. She is the younger sibling of a previous student, so the family is continuing with me. She is a high achiever but feels she needs some skills-based extra tuition for AQA English GCSE. She is attending once a week.

A home-educated student studying CIE A-level History and English Language. He had completed a distance learning course at home, but has not scored as highly as he hoped with his assignments. After one year of tutoring he sat both his AS exams and got A grades. He is now completing his A levels. He is attending fortnightly.

A home-educated student studying CIE 9389 A-level History. I am delivering the whole A level and we are in our second year. She lives in Austria so we tutor online and have 2 sessions per week.

German student studying GCSE CIE 0470 History. I support her school studies and we meet online once per week.

UK student from Essex studying OCR History. I support her school studies and we meet online once per week.

Student from the Ukraine studying English. We have 2 hours online per week.

UK student who has been with me for 4 years, through GCSE and onto A level. He achieved an A grade at GCSE and is studying OCR English Language and Literature. He comes to my home for tutorials once per week.

A returning UK student who attends private school. He was with me for CIE 0470 iGCSE History and improved from E to A* grade. He is returning for A level and we tutor online once per week.

Hong Kong student studying CIE History Pre-U. We meet online 1x per week.

Another Hong Kong student studying CIE 0470 GCSE History. He is extremely able and should get and A or A* grade. We meet online once per week.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I find that often students know the syllabus content but are unclear how to answer questions in the analytical, structured format that gets good grades. I tutor with a focus on restructuring answers in the style that examiners prefer and developing your own original ideas into an effective argument. I work with you to gain a deeper understanding of the themes, to learn good academic technique and to build confidence in your own abilities.

Most of all, I hope to help you enjoy learning and to find a passion for your chosen subject.