Find UK Tuition

Julia Jane Heckles art tutor MA, BA degree, foundation, A-level, GCSE

Julia Jane Heckles History of Art Tutor (South West London)

Julia Jane Heckles Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA Fine Art (Merit), BA (2:1) History of Art
  • Professional Qualification DET Diploma Education & Training
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS November 2016
  • Professional Membership SET - Society of Education & Training
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello I'm Julia Jane, a full time arts educator in art and design and history of art. I'm a highly experienced, positive and encouraging tutor.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am a dedicated teacher of Art & Design (fine art - drawing and painting) and History of Art.
Academic writing. Artists journals. Portfolio preparation and interview practice. Confidence building for project presentations
Tell me about your qualifications.
Arts qualifications
Masters Degree in Fine Art by research project (merit), as a mature student in 2015
Post Graduate Certificate in History of Art (2010)
BA (2:1) History of Art. (2009)

Teaching qualifications
Diploma in Education and Training (2010)
TEFL in teaching Young Learners (2008)
RSA Certificate Teaching Adults (1990)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been in education for over twenty years and am currently teaching in sixth form colleges and adult education. I have been tutoring students on a private tuition basis for over eight years.

Teaching English TEFL in Barcelona academies for two years. It was in Barcelona that I taught art totally in English to children.Their English developed in leaps and bounds, as they talked about their art lessons. Their learning skills developed and they gained an increased self believe and confidence.

How much do you charge?
I charge a flat rate of £50 per hour for all subjects, levels and ages. I give every level of student the same care in preparation, tuition and support. And subject research in the case of BA and MA degree specialisms.

If required, I provide you with free support between sessions by email. This keeps up your momentum with your subject and unblocks stumbling blocks quickly.
Where do you teach?
I teach in my studio in my Wandsworth Town flat, in South West London. Most students come here because they have access to art materials and books. In special circumstances, I will travel to you, depending on location. Please ask me if you need me to travel to you.

My on-line tuition — which is popular, relaxed, effective and fun. You may opt for a blend of face to face and on-line tuition.

When are you available?
I am currently booking new and my returning students, for the academic year 2017/18.
Please contact me as soon as possible to avoid disappointment. On-line sessions however are flexible. Please ask about availability.

I tutor at weekends upon request. Please ask for available slots.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
My specialist age group is 16 plus, mature students and returners to education. However, I am a trained TEFL teacher to young learners and do tutor younger learners — please ask me about your requirements.

My specialist level is MA and BA degree levels. Foundation, A-level, GCSE and BTEC level 2 and 3.

Also, I teach vocational, life style and adult learning courses for fun and personal development. See the link for my new adult learning course starting in Sept 2017:

Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
BA, A-level, GCSE and BTEC for the examination boards AQA, OCR and Pearson Edexcel.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an Enhanced Disclosure dated until November 2017.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype for our sessions. PLEASE NOTE: I am at present working on a platform for an new online teaching experience. Details to follow for 2018.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
NSEAD — National Society for Education Art & Design, Full Member, Number 202375, 2014
SET — Society for Education & Training, Full Member, Number AF002086 (Previously IfL), 2015
DRN — Drawing Research Network, Member, 2015
AHH — Association of Art Historians, Full Member, Number 7225 2014, 2012
Where and with whom did you train?
In London at Sir John Cass School of Art, Architecture & Design — fine art
In London at Birkbeck College, University of London — history of art
On line at The Open University — history of art
In London at Central Saint Martins — intensive summer courses in photography and experimental printmaking
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently teach A-level students, who find that their sessions at school or college do not meet their needs.

One example is an on-line student who is in the final year of a BA Fine Art & Textiles degree in Wales. She has regular on-line sessions with me to discuss learning blockages and ideas and to receive guidance on artists in context, reading lists and writing her dissertation.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Yes. My personal message for you is that with the enthusiasm and dedication from the right tutor — you can do it. And do it better than you imagined possible.

My current students often state that their school, college or university tutors, don't have the time to dedicate to themes of interest to the student.

As a student, you may really value the opportunity to be mentored through tough times. Additionally a tutor offers new angles and approaches that can enrich your experience and improve results. And as a mature student I understand the challenges that life flings, whilst remembering that learning really does change lives, brings confidence and makes a difference.