Find UK Tuition

History/ German/ 11+/ Latin Tutor in Brondesbury - Dr Kat Hill

Dr Kat Hill A-level History Tutor (North West London)

Dr Kat Hill Gold Member

  • Brondesbury Park (NW6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 25 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Web site: www.kathill.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Camden, Kensington and Chelsea
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA (Hons) 1st Class in History from Oxford
  • Professional Qualification MSt in Historical Research with Distinction, D Phil (Oxford), British Academy Post-Doctoral Fellow
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS checked
  • Professional Membership Birkbeck,University of London; Univeristy of Oxford
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a passionate teacher and working academic with a doctorate from Oxford specialising in history, languages and entrance exams. As someone who has tutored and worked as an academic for 10 years, I have an excellent knowledge of my subjects.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My main speciality as a published historian is history which I tutor at all levels. However, I also specialise in German and Latin, from KS3 to A-Level, and also have considerable experience in entrance exam preparation. For younger students I can help improve Maths and English and prepare for the 10 plus, 11 plus or 13 plus, and for more advanced students, my experience as an admissions tutor, Oxford aptitude test marker and a secondary school teacher means I can assist with all aspects of University applications.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a first class honours degree from Oxford, a Masters in Historical Research from Oxford and a D Phil from Oxford, as well as 4 A-Levels and 12 GCSEs all at the top grade. I am also an experienced teacher and working for my fellowship of the Higher Education Academy.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a wide range of teaching experience from helping individuals through 11+ to supervising graduate students. I am currently a lecturer in history in London and have taught tutorials and lectured at Oxford university for 4 years, at UEA for 2 years, taught history in a top private school in West London, and provided private tuition for nearly 10 years for many individual students many of whom have gone onto the secondary schools of their choice or top universities such as Oxford, Exeter and Durham. My approach to teaching is that each student has unique requirements. I take time to assess what approach and style of instruction suits the student.

I always look for stimulating reading material for students and believe that variety in lessons, incorporating methods such as self-assessment or fun but challenging activities can be very beneficial. I try to use my wide experiences beyond the classroom and the world of academia to create exciting and effective lessons which also broaden students` horizons.

Results this year from students attest to the success of these methods. Two of my history A-Level students this year got As and one achieved nearly full marks, a GCSE student achieved all A*s. Past students at 11+ have got into the schools of their choice (which have included Westminster and St Paul`s) and past A-Level students have achieved top grades and gone onto to universities such as Oxford and LSE.
How much do you charge?
My rates vary from £35 per hour for primary up to £60 for university. The first lesson is always free, and I can offer discounts for a block of lessons booked in advance. Travel beyond 4 miles may be charged extra.
Where do you teach?
I can teach at yours or from my home in the Queens Park area, but am also willing to travel within Brent, Barnet, Camden, Kensington and Chelsea and Hammersmith up to 4-5 miles away.
When are you available?
I can be available any days up until 5.30pm, Tuesdays all evening and Friday all evening, and most Mondays. I also have weekends available, and am free throughout the school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from primary to degree level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I help prepare for 10 plus, 11 plus, 13 plus, GCSE, A-Level, Pre-U, and Degrees.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS check.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I will send work or reading to do before the lesson, as well as a guided sheet for both the student and myself to follow. I can use Skype or chat via a messenger forum, as well as provide feedback online.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am working towards fellowship of the Higher Education Academy.
Where and with whom did you train?
I have trained while I taught at one of the top schools in London, Latymer Upper and also done training in Learning and Assessment at Oxford and the University of East Anglia.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have just seen two of my students achieve top-grades at history A-level and go to Exeter and Queen Mary, and I am working (amongst others) with a university student who just achieved a first in the first year of her degree doing one of the most demanding courses at UCL.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am passionate about learning. I want to help you succeed and work with you to provide the style of tutoring and resources you need. I see a tutoring relationship as us working together to see you achieve your goals.