Find UK Tuition

History/ Politics/ RS Tutor in Camden - Dr Jaime Ashworth

Dr Jaime Ashworth University History Tutor (North West London)

Dr Jaime Ashworth Gold Member

  • Camden Town (NW1)
  • Last Logged In: 05 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: framingthequestion.wordpress.com
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Brent, City of London, Hackney, Haringey, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Southwark, Tower Hamlets
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B.Sc International History, MA Central and Eastern European Studies
  • Professional Qualification Ph.D. (Holocaust Studies), PGCE Post-Compulsory Education
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Member of the DBS Update Service
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi! Thanks for looking at my page. I'm an experienced and thorough teacher who has a passion for his subject and ensuring that his students perform to the best of their ability.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My specialist subject is German History in the twentieth century (I am happy to offer tuition to MA level) but I am able to offer tuition in any period up to A-Level. I can also offer tuition for A-Level Politics and Religious Studies if required. In addition, I have considerable experience with general writing skills, research skills and study skills.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a B.Sc. in International History from the London School of Economics, an MA in Central and Eastern European Studies from the Jagiellonian University (Krakow), and a Ph.D. in Holocaust Studies from the University of Southampton. I am also a qualified post-16 teacher with a PGCE from the UCL Institute of Education.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught groups of students and individuals from Year 9 to postgraduate: students and colleagues have praised my rapport, clarity, humour and use of technology in my sessions.
How much do you charge?
The prices quoted are a basis for negotiation: I am happy to discuss your needs and budget, though for long distances and other special circumstances I would expect to charge more.
Where do you teach?
I am based in Camden Town but do not teach from my home. There are a number of public spaces appropriate for tuition in the area and I am happy to work at your home: I will travel up to 45 minutes from Camden before needing to negotiate prices.
When are you available?
Monday, 10 am to 8pm (last start, 7pm); Tuesday, 10am to 6pm (last start, 5pm); Wednesday, 10am to 8pm (last start, 7pm); Thursday, 10am to 8pm (last start, 7pm); Friday, 10am to 5pm (last start, 4pm). I will fit in with your holiday schedules though I operate a reduced timetable during the summer.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am most expert with post-16 students (A-Level/Undergraduate/Postgraduate) but am happy to work with GCSE students if required.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I am used to teaching A-Levels but can work toward any qualification with a clearly-defined syllabus.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I am a member of the DBS Update Service and you are welcome to run a check if you wish.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have Skype and FaceTime depending on your preference.
Where and with whom did you train?
My teaching experience has provided me with most of my training, but I completed a PGCE at the UCL Institute of Education (2014-2015) with a placement at a well-known and high-achieving London Sixth Form College. I have taught in a variety of formal and informal settings.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My primary concern is that you achieve the best result possible and that you develop the embedded/transferable skills in the course you are working towards. I believe learning should be fun and rewarding but also believe that the development of good habits is essential for success in the future as well as right now. I will make an agreement with you regarding tasks that I think will supplement what you are doing in school/college. Your success is my goal!