Find UK Tuition

Jack Gordon-Brown - English/ Maths/ History Tutor in Brighton

Jack Gordon-Brown A-level History Tutor (Brighton)

Jack Gordon-Brown Gold Member

  • Central Brighton (BN1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 25 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Kensington and Chelsea, Mid Sussex

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification MA History, Cambridge
  • Professional Qualification CELTA
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB checked. DBS one can be requested if needed
  • Professional Membership The London Academy of Tutors


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified teacher and tutor with over 6 years of experience teaching in schools, universities and on a one-to-one level.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Mathematics, English, Science from KS1 up to GCSE and History up to A-level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA and a Masters in History from Emmanuel College, Cambridge. I have also gained a CELTA qualification in language teaching.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 3 years of experience working at a secondary school in London providing extra support in English, Maths and Science for SEN students and English as an Additional Language students. I have over 5 years of experience tutoring students in these core subjects. I have tutored several families in London for over 2 years and have helped them with the 11+ and 13+ common entrance exams. Most recently, last year I was teaching Maths, English and Science GCSE to a group of 3 students and A-Level History to another 2 students. These students got A*s and As across the board in their GCSEs and my History students achieved As.
How much do you charge?
I charge depending on the level of tuition and the distance I have to travel. Generally speaking I am willing to do the second hour of tuition for a discounted price.
My rates start at £40 an hour for Maths and English, up to £60 an hour for History A-Level or something more specialist. If I have to travel more than an hour to get to you I will charge £15 per travel hour.
Where do you teach?
London, Brighton, Hove, Lewes, Worthing. I am happy to teach wherever is convenient for you. So long as it is a good learning environment. Tutorials can take place at my home if need be.
When are you available?
At the time being I have a fairly flexible, though I will get booked up as we head towards the exam period.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Primarily GCSE level and A-Level, but I have experience teaching KS1,2,3 as well.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSEs, A-Levels, 11+, 13+
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an old one but am happy to get a new one if it is requested
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I will generally send some reading / work through a few days before the tutorial begins. We will then discuss the material, check understanding of the new concept, try some practice questions and discuss further opportunities for learning.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
No I don't, Though I am the Director of the London Academy of Tutors which operates out of London.
Where and with whom did you train?
International House, London.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently teaching one A-Level student Cold War history.
Another student is retaking their Maths GCSE and should pass it in his forthcoming retake.
Another KS2 student who finds reading and writing particularly I am helping develop his reading fluency and phonemic awareness.
Another student is preparing for his GCSE mocks in English and Maths
Do you have a personal message for students?
Looking forward to meeting you and helping you in whatever I can!