Find UK Tuition

Jacqueline Anderson - SEN/Autism Tuition

Jacqueline Anderson Autism Tutor (Birmingham)

Jacqueline Anderson Silver Member

  • Central Birmingham (B42) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 14 Aug 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have experience working with children of all abilities. I have acquired various teaching strategies over the years which has increased my ability to help children raise their self esteem and confidence levels in order to progress.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach all the subjects I have indicated above. I also teach children with autism/learning disabilities academic and social/life skills.
I am an Assisitive Technology Trainer.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons) Childhood, Culture and Education.
Currently completing Postgraduate Diploma Special Educational Needs and Inclusion.

My other quailification are as follows:-
CACHE Diploma Child, Care and Education.
CPCAB Certificate in Counselling Skills.
Diploma Front Office Practice.
Pediatric First Aid Certificate.
Preliminary Certificate in Legal Studies.
GCSE: English Language, English Literature, Maths, Biology, Media studies, Office Studies, French.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have twenty years of childcare experience and have a good knowledge of child development and education. I have mainstream teaching experience and have planned for and taught whole classes of children with mixed abilities.

I also have a lot of experience of working with and caring for children with autism, learning difficulties and special educational needs. I am also familiar with the local education authorities and inclusion procedures.

I have experience of tutoring one to one and have found that by working on a child's confidence, self esteem as well as the subject matter you will see progress. I have high expectations for all my students.
How much do you charge?
£25 at the office. £35 home tuition. Travel charges added if outside the 9 miles radius.
Discounts are available for more than one child.
Where do you teach?
I no longer tutor in students homes, unless I am booked for a short course of study in the school holidays. Tuition now takes place in Birmingham City Centre. Diamond Tuition runs two 2hr classes on Saturdays, 12pm-2pm (Currently fully booked) and 2.15pm-4.15pm. Also, Fridays 4.30-6.30.
Other areas:- Walsall, Sandwell, Birmingham, Solihull
When are you available?
I am available 10-4.30pm mon- fri. 12-4.30pm sat.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach children from 3 years old up to 11 years old. For students with autism/sen, I am prepared to begin tutoring at a younger age as I believe early intervention is essential. The upper age limit is also extended.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I do.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor by email and I am willing to become more familiar with skype.
Where and with whom did you train?
I attended Birmingham University and Warwick University. I also trained with The National Autistic Society.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Currently, all my students are on the Special Educational Needs register. Their ages range from 4 years old to 16 years old and their differences include autism, aspergers, LD, global development delay and speech and communication delay. One of my students is home schooled. I work/have worked with children with challenging behaviours. In these cases, I have had to work on the child's behaviour before we could progress onto their academic achievements. I use an holistic approach to tutoring children with SEN, as my work background includes counselling, coaching and mentoring young people.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I believe that every child has the potential to learn and by finding that child's personal learning style, this can be achieved.