Find UK Tuition

James Savage-Hanford - Singing, Piano, Music and Theory Tuition

James Savage-Hanford Classical Singing Teacher (Hemel Hempstead)

James Savage-Hanford Gold Member

  • Tring (HP23)
  • Last Logged In: 17 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Aylesbury Vale, Chiltern, St Albans & Harpenden

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification MA (Cantab), MMus (London), PhD (London)
  • Professional Qualification PGDip (RWCMD)

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm an enthusiastic music graduate and professional musician with experience in teaching all ages in academic, instrumental and vocal tuition. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you wish to negotiate lessons.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach singing and classical piano up to Grade 8, and am happy to help students prepare for music theory exams. I also offer Music A-level and degree-level tuition.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated from Emmanuel College, Cambridge with a degree in Music, and completed my Master's in Musicology at Royal Holloway, University of London. I gained a Postgraduate Diploma in Classical and Operatic Singing from the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, and I'm currently studying for a PhD in Musicology at RHUL.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have several years' experience in academic, instrumental and vocal tuition. I have taught Music at GCSE, A-Level, and University level, as well as Music Theory up to Grade 8. As a professional tenor, I have appeared in a number of operatic productions, both as a chorus member and as a soloist in and around London, and abroad. I also sing with several professional choirs, and am finding increasing work as a soloist on the concert platform - please visit my website for further details. As a pianist, I have experience playing as an accompanist (for other singers), soloist (as a recitalist and for a piano concerto), and in chamber groups.
How much do you charge?
I charge between £30 and £35 per hour, depending on subject. I'm willing to negotiate discounts for teaching more than one student at the same time or under the same roof.
Where do you teach?
I teach predominantly from home, in Tring. I will consider traveling to a student's home if local.
When are you available?
I am fairly flexible and happy to teach most days, with a preference for weekday evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages at the levels outlined above.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I'm happy to help students through Grade examinations (Associated Board or otherwise). I'm equally happy to teach those who simply want to learn casually without taking exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a fully up-to-date CRB disclosure certificate.
Where and with whom did you train?
I have studied singing with Adrian Thompson and Jeff Stewart, and currently learn with David Barrell. I have studied piano with Matthew Schellhorn.