Find UK Tuition

Jim Carlberg - English Tutor in Walthamstow

Jim Carlberg GCSE English Tutor (East London)

Jim Carlberg Silver Member

  • Walthamstow (E17)
  • Last Logged In: 10 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barking and Dagenham, Camden, Enfield, Epping Forest, Hackney, Haringey, Newham, Redbridge, Westminster

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification English with Education Studies 2:1
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Secondary English
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Current DBS Uni.of Westminster
  • Professional Membership National Union of Teachers
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a dependable, enthusiastic study skills tutor and qualified English teacher at the University of Westminster. I am fully committed to tutees and have an extensive CV in Higher Education and schools. I'd be delighted to hear from you.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Extensive experience of teaching English Language and Literature at upper and lower Secondary; including engagement with study skills and English at degree level in my current role. I also have experience with Film and Media studies, as well as full qualifications in Teaching English as a Foreign Language.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I possess the following qualifications and can provide evidence of all documents:
- 2:1 English with Education studies.
- Post Graduate Certificate in Secondary English with distinction level credits at M-level.
- Trinity certificate of Teaching English as a Foreign Language.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have several years of teaching experience ranging from Primary to work with universities and Young Offending institutions. In my longest teaching post at a behavioural needs school, I sustained a notable track record in working closely with the individual needs of learners - seeking to get the best out of young potential and tackle their most challenging learning issues.

In my current role at the University of Westminster, I work daily with schools across London (including Primaries) to raise aspiration and engagement with universities and expand my considerable knowledge of qualifications in the lead up to university and apprenticeships. The breadth of my experience is complimented by a high quality of feedback and I enjoy meeting new people and working together to collaborate in their efforts to succeed.
How much do you charge?
I currently charge a minimum of £35.00 per hour for all sessions in my main subject and £40.00 in the supplementary skills and services such as dissertation proof-reading
Where do you teach?
I currently live in Walthamstow and am happy to travel reasonable distances to work with students. Thusly, the areas in Waltham Forest, Redbridge, Newham and Hackney are easily accessible. I also work in Central London and on occasion will be readily available to work in the immediate areas of Camden, Westminster and points between there and East London. These arrangements can be discussed further through contact.
When are you available?
My timetables are flexible, I am prepared to work on negotiated Saturdays and am more flexible during the school Summer holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I typically teach ages 11-19 as per my classroom experience but will also work with those in Further Education, University and adults looking to develop study skills.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Language and Literature qualifications at:
Key stage 3 and 4
A-Level
Functional Skills Level 1 & 2
English Baccalaureate

I also can support advanced students with Critical Writing and Referencing at degree level and English as a 2nd Language.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current certified check through the University of Westminster.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
National Union of Teachers and the former General Teaching Council for England
Where and with whom did you train?
I graduated from Sheffield Hallam University in 2009 and furthered my level of qualification to qualified teacher status at the University of Leicester shortly afterward. During my time in Sheffield I also trained to teach English as a 2nd language. I am also involved in the Spanish programme at the University of Westminster and possess conversational Spanish.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students consist of varied ages, abilities and stages in education and I pride myself on the ability to provide educational provision for each individual. The students I have worked with have sought to improve their engagement and confidence in their studies and I look forward to expanding on those committed working relationships.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I look forward to hearing from you and let me know how I can help! I will respond to all correspondence within 48 hours and am prepared to discuss arrangements over the phone or over a coffee. Please feel free to get in touch.

Jim