Find UK Tuition

Joanne - Dyslexia, English, Literacy Tutor Godalming Surrey

Joanne Barry Dyslexia Tutor (Guildford)

Joanne Barry

  • Godalming (GU8) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Jul 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Guildford
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Pupils learn best through lessons tailored to their interests and needs and this is essential to promote self-esteem and motivation. I spend at least two to three hours, often four or more, preparing material for each and every lesson.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English key stage 1-3, including specialist literacy teaching for pupils with specific learning difficulties or other special needs. I also teach study skills, particularly for pupils at secondary school.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA English Hons (Rhodes, SA), TEFL, PGCEE (University of Derbyshire), Dip RSA specific learning difficulties,dyslexia (OCR Level 5 certificate completed at Helen Arkell Dyslexia Centre, Frensham). I teach pupils of all abilities but have a particular interest in those with specific learning differences such as dyslexia. I have taught English to all age groups from key stage 1 to adult. Professional and personal references available.
What kind of experience do you have?
I teach English to KSI, 2 and 3 pupils of all abilities and literacy to pupils with specific learning difficulties. I have a special interest in dyslexia, but teach pupils of all abilities.
How much do you charge?
£55 per hour plus travel, depending on distance to learner's home or school. I set targets for six lessons at a time, offering regular opportunity for review of progress. After an initial teaching session to determine whether you would like to proceed, I ask for commitment to just 6 lessons at a time. I do not charge for missed lessons as long as I am notified up to two hours before the lesson.
Where do you teach?
I work part-time at local schools and also teach pupils privately at my home in Godalming, Surrey, or can travel to learners' homes or schools in and around Godalming.
When are you available?
By negotiation, including some school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Key stage 1, 2, 3, any level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, obtained through a local school where I work part-time.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
My approach is personal, multi-sensory and tailored to the individual. I offer a lot of kinaesthetic, hands-on activities to children who learn best that way so the way I work does not lend itself to online tutoring. I therefore do not offer it.
Where and with whom did you train?
Rhodes University (South Africa), Derby University, Helen Arkell Dyslexia Centre (Surrey).
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently work with a range of pupils of different abilities and ages, particularly pupils with dyslexia.
Do you have a personal message for students?
It's my task to make your learning as successful and enjoyable as possible. It's important that you and I get on well and that I work hard to understand how you learn best.