Find UK Tuition

Joanne Leach - 11+, English and Maths tuition in Southgate, Enfield

Joanne Leach 11+ exam Tutor (North London)

Joanne Leach Gold Member

  • Southgate (N14) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 20 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Law
  • Professional Qualification Qualified Teaching Assistant
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB checked
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Fun, stimulating and accessible tuition, specialising in 11+ preparation and KSs 1 to 3. Patient and professional tutor who is able to relate easily to young people, delivering excellent results.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialise in coaching children for 11 plus and secondary school entrance exams, including teaching Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning. I teach English and Maths from KS1 to KS2.
Tell me about your qualifications.
After leaving Enfield County School in June 2000 with 3 As at A-level in English, French and Spanish, I studied at the Sorbonne University in Paris and King's College London, where I obtained my Law degree (LLB, 2:1). I passed my professional law exams (LPC) with a distinction and am now studying for my second degree in English Literature. I have also completed a Teaching Assistant course.
What kind of experience do you have?
I started my career in the City, working for four years as a solicitor, specialising in Employment law. My passion for inspiring a love of learning prompted me to begin a career in teaching and I have since worked in a school, supporting young people with special educational needs. I have six years' experience tutoring privately. I have been successful in supporting students' preparation for entrance exams for Dame Alice Owen School, Latymer School, Haileybury, St Albans School, Haberdashers' Aske's School for Girls, John Warner School and St Edmund's College.
How much do you charge?
For one-on-one tuition I charge £45 per hour. The first lesson is free and I offer a 50% discount for each additional student in group lessons
Where do you teach?
I teach at my home in Southgate, in a purpose-built studio in my garden.
When are you available?
I am available from 6pm to 8pm on weeknights during term time and from 9am to 6.30pm on Saturdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students At KS1 and KS2, but specialise in teaching KS2 students in preparation for secondary school entrance exams.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I specialise in providing coaching to help students to pass school entrance exams. I also teach English Language and Literature and Maths from KS1 to KS2.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I hold a DBS certificate which is available on request. I can also provide a reference from existing clients and I allow parents to sit in on lessons.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can provide tutoring online via Skype webcam and email.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am motivated by enabling others to realise their potential and enjoy helping people work towards the academic achievements that will prepare them for rewarding work. I am aware of the barriers to learning that affect some students and am skilled in finding ways to overcome them so they can make the grade and reach personal fulfilment in their studies. I am compassionate and articulate, able to break down complex ideas and explain them so the student can more easily relate to them. I simplify difficult concepts and give context to learning objectives.