Find UK Tuition

GCSE & A-level English Tutor, Cambridge Graduate - Joe Marsh

Joe Marsh A-level English Tutor (Derby)

Joe Marsh

  • Wirksworth (DE4)
  • Last Logged In: 09 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello! I am a 34 year-old qualified secondary school English teacher with a first class degree in English from Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. From September, I am looking to work with a small number of tutees alongside my work as a playwright.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English is my primary subject of expertise. I also teach acting, having worked as a professional actor for six years prior to becoming a teacher and writer.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a first class degree in English from Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, and have qualified teacher status accredited by the Institute of Education at an "outstanding" level. I also have a Diploma in Professional Acting following my training at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School.
What kind of experience do you have?
In 2016 I left my position at Bethnal Green Academy as English Teacher and Sixth-form Coordinator in English to pursue a career as a freelance teacher, tutor and writer. I was at the school for two years, training there as an English teacher on the School Direct scheme for which I received qualified teacher status at an "outstanding" level. In my final year there I saw a class of 23 year 11 students and 13 sixth-formers through their exams.

I was delighted to find out recently that under my supervision the school achieved its best ever A-level results in English, with every student meeting or exceeding their ambitious target grades. Similarly, all of my year 11 class met or exceeded their target grades. Whilst no teacher or tutor can or should guarantee results, I am delighted that all of the students I have tutored to date have met or exceeded their expectations on results day.

I started tutoring at the age of 16, assisting two boys of 11 and 7 with their school work, and since then have accumulated experience in a wide range of educational environments with tutees of all ages and abilities. At the age of 19, I spent six months as a classroom assistant in Moscow, where I also volunteered as an English language tutor at a centre for Chechen refugees. In addition I worked with students of my own age at Moscow State University, holding literature discussion groups and occasionally giving lectures. Following my time at Cambridge, I worked as a professional actor, during which time I was involved in educational workshops in a variety of settings such as schools, hospitals and prisons.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I can travel to students if it is cyclable from Wirksworth! I am also an experienced online tutor, which has a number of advantages, should this be desirable.
When are you available?
I currently have availability on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am looking for GCSE or A-Level students only.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a DBS certificate available for inspection which is registered to the DBS update system.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor online via Skype and googledocs.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a warm and patient person, qualities which I believe helped me to maintain excellent relationships with all of my students at Bethnal Green Academy. I am extremely thoughtful and methodical in my approach to problem solving and will encourage you as my tutee to be the same. My emphasis will be on the process rather than the outcome, which leads to better long-term results. I look forward to working with you!