Find UK Tuition

John - History, Politics, Tuition in Epsom,

John Lewis A-level History Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

John Lewis Gold Member

  • Epsom (KT17) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Merton, Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Sutton

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I retired from teaching in 2006 after 34 years in the job and since then I have been tutoring on a regular basis.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach History, Government & Politics, International Relations, Business Studies and Religious Studies (but only to 13+ and Key Stage 3).
Tell me about your qualifications.
Certificate in Education, Bachelor of Arts (History), Counselling diploma, Professional Coaching (Education)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been in teaching, both full-time and in tutoring for almost 40 years, and during that time, I have seen a tremendous number of students which has had its challenges but also its rewards. I taught in Canada for a while, and on returning to the UK, I became the Senior Tutor in an independent school in Middlesex, but I remained very much in touch with the classroom. I have been a tutor for 5 years but this time I have enjoyed the daily variety of people I meet and assist and also I do like the travelling, which is a different aspect to the job.I enjoy what I do and I am looking forward to extending my list of contacts even further.
How much do you charge?
For all students below GCSE level I charge £25 an hour. To everyone else above GCSE, I charge £30 an hour.
Where do you teach?
If families prefer, I do teach at home, but in my experience, most people prefer that I visit them and I am very happy to do so. I live near Epsom in Surrey, which I find is central to most places within a 15 to 20 mile radius. However, for 3 years, I had a student in Slough which was a greater distance than that, so it is not a strict limit. I have taught students in a variety of places in London, Croydon, Richmond upon Thames, Chertsey, Walton on Thames, Barnes, Wimbledon, Hounslow, Twickenham, Sunbury on Thames, Hampton, Streatham, Morden, as well as all places local to Epsom.
When are you available?
I am available most times - mornings, afternoons and evenings. I am also available during most holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach anyone from Key Stage 3, so that in effect means from the age of 11. I teach up to A Level, which includes Common Entrance and GCSE. I also teach adults who wish to improve their qualifications, or simply wish to pursue an interest in History or Politics.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for end of year exams, Common Entrance, GCSE and A-Level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes from August 2014.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have taught students on MSN and skype, both of which have been a relatively new project for me. However, I have found face to face tuition to be much more effective and that is the type of contact I prefer.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
No
Where and with whom did you train?
Westminster College in Oxford for my teaching certificate and London University for honours degree in History
Tell me about some of your current students.
Every year throws up a great variety of students and this year (2013-14) has been no exception. A major advantage over full-time teaching in a school is that I am able to treat each individual according to his/her circumstances and requirements and then responding directly to those. One student suffered from anxiety and panic attacks which led to depression which led to her being absent from school for much of her first year Sixth. She decided to continue with her AS Level study in the German Reformation and the Dutch revolt from home and I was called in to be her tutor. She achieved an A grade, but not only that, she got full marks in both her papers.
Unfortunately, from time to time, there arises problems between the student and the teacher and I am called in to unblock an impasse which has developed. I had one such young man who was studying A Level international relations up to 1994 but really could not get on with his teacher. Indeed I was shown a piece of marked work which, despite what in my opinion contained something of value, attracted negative comments. He was predicted an E grade. He actually got a B grade.
Finally, a student who really wanted to go on to study History at university but was finding Year 13 essay technique on Henry VIII rather difficult and so was predicted a D grade, actually ended up with an A and IS going to do a History degree at her first choice university.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I do like make to make a difference, whether that is improving your exam or revision technique, or improving your performance and are requiring a grade improvement, or even wishing to improve your confidence, all of which are basic to exam success. Most people I have come into contact with have been highly satisfied with the outcome, and essentially, I would like to do the same for you! Recognising that each individual has different needs and requirements and making the subject enjoyable, form a major part of my approach to tutoring. Also I feel that my experience as a former head of department, as well as 34 years of teaching, is what I bring to my tutoring. Teaching is more than simply the imparting of knowledge. It is down to practitioners such as myself to develop examination technique as well as to help in the learning process, and therefore to develop learning techniques, which are vital to exam success. It is within my capability to advance upon disappointing predicted grades as well as to achieve high pass grades for those whose chosen universities demand them. Finally, now that A levels follow a linear course means that the final exam at the end of two years study can appear to be rather daunting as the modular courses have now finished. Being able to organise yourselves over a two year period will become a key skill to acquire, and this is an area in which I have some expertise.