Find UK Tuition

Joleen Carter - French/ Spanish Tutor in Maidstone

Joleen Carter French (general) Tutor (Rochester)

Joleen Carter

  • Central Maidstone (ME14)
  • Last Logged In: 13 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Medway
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified linguist with almost 10 years' experience in tutoring at various levels. I love sharing my passion for languages with my students!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach French and Spanish to students preparing for A-Level or GSCE exams and to adult learners according to the parameters of the Common European Framework Reference for Languages.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a Bachelor's Degree in Applied Foreign Languages from the University of Tours, France and a Masters' in Conference Interpreting from the University of Westminster. When I'm not teaching I work as a Translator and Interpreter!
What kind of experience do you have?
I have tutored privately for almost 10 years and have also taught group classes at the Alliance Francaise and lectured at the University of the West Indies. I lived in France for 5 years (where I taught English, among other things) and also lived and worked briefly in Spain.
How much do you charge?
My standard rate for students over 12 years of age is £35/hr. For students under 12 my rate is £30/hr.

These rates are negotiable based on the level of the student and the purpose of study. For instance, an adult learner who is learning Spanish for pleasure / travel may be offered a lower rate than an adult learner preparing to sit DALF examinations.

Evaluation and consultation sessions cost half the applicable standard rate. Contact me for details of my rates for online tutoring.
Where do you teach?
I go to my students' homes if they live in the Medway / Maidstone area. If your home is not easily accessible to me, I can tutor you online!
When are you available?
During the academic year I am available Mon-Fri- 5-8pm and from 12 to 8pm on Saturdays. The exact time will depend in part on the student's location.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have taught students from age 4 to age 60! I can tailor my classes to the individual needs and capabilities of my student.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
DELF
GCSE
A-Level
TCF
French / Spanish Conversation / Revision
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Course Structure:
Bespoke curriculum
FREE pre-course consultation session
Printable/ Downloadable Coursework Materials for vocabulary, reading and listening proficiency
Contact Hours via Skype/ Video Conferencing
Evaluation session every 10 hours.
Standard Rate: £15/ session
Advance payment via bank transfer / PayPal accepted
Do you have a personal message for students?
Everyone can learn a language. If you can read this, it means you have already learned one! It would be my challenge and my pleasure to prove to you that you have what it takes to learn another...