Find UK Tuition

Jonathan Dagley - English Tutor in Canterbury

Jonathan Dagley A-level English Tutor (Canterbury)

Jonathan Dagley Silver Member

  • Harbledown (CT2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 28 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Ashford
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA (Hons) English, Oxford University
  • Professional Qualification PGCE (Distinction), Oxford University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS (September 2016)
  • Professional Membership ATL/NEU
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I enjoy teaching and enabling students to communicate effectively and to use English with confidence: to write and say what they mean and mean what they write and say.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English Language to GCSE and English Literature to all levels up to university entrance.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an MA honours degree in English and a PGCE from Oxford University. I also have an MA in Comparative Literature from the University of Kent.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught in state and independent schools for 35 years. I have taught to all levels from 11-18 and was Head of English in an independent school for 26 years. I have also examined for over 30 years particularly at A level (28 years). So I have a good idea of what examiners are looking for!
How much do you charge?
My standard rate is £30 per hour for GCSE, £35 for A level. I can teach at home or travel up to a reasonable distance from Canterbury (c 10-15 miles). If further than 10 miles, a 40p per mile charge applies.
Where do you teach?
I can teach at home or visit the home of the student up to 10-15 miles from Canterbury.
When are you available?
I am available during the week, by arrangement, generally within school term time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach the 11-18 age range, to GCSE, AS, and A level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE English and English Literature; AS and A level English Literature.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, September 2016.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can interview and tutor online using Skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
ATL
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at the Oxford University Dept for Educational Studies.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have recently retired from full time classroom teaching where my students were of all abilities. A recent tutee I taught for three months who went on to pass GCSE with a C was someone with the lowest grade predictions when at school. I have taught several recent classes of mixed ability to A level, two gaining A* last year. I enjoy teaching those whose aim is a C at GCSE as much as those needing an extra polish for the highest achievements. A willingness to learn is the most important requirement. I always look for students' strengths while challenging them to believe they can do better and providing a clear structure for them to achieve in writing.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I have great confidence in my own skills and my ability to communicate. I will always do my best to inspire your confidence and will use my experience to prepare you for your goals. Sometimes a new start can make all the difference!