Find UK Tuition

Jonathan Ercanbrack - Law/German Tutor in Central London

Jonathan Ercanbrack University Law Tutor (South East London)

Jonathan Ercanbrack

  • Herne Hill (SE24)
  • Last Logged In: 13 Jan 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Camden, Greenwich, Hackney, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Lewisham, Southwark

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a university lecturer in law at SOAS, University of London. (PhD,SOAS; MSc, London School of Economics) and have over 7 years of full time teaching experience.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach the subjects that I have studied and/or trained in as an academic: English, German, Law, Politics, History. I have extensive experience in developing students' writing ability, including their analytical and research skills. I also teach study skills, reading skills and am very proficient in helping students develop university and/or career applications.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a PhD in Law (SOAS, University of London); an MSc in Political Economy (London School of Economics); a Vordiplom in Economics (University of Heidelberg, Germany); and a BA in German (University of Utah, USA). I have participated in many teacher skills training workshops as a prerequisite to my full time occupation as a university lecturer.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught university students for over 7 years on a full time basis and have tutored primary school children on an occasional basis.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 per hour. Travel costs for zones beyond one or two.
Where do you teach?
I teach at home and at students' homes and am willing to travel within zones 1 and 2 of Greater London. I may also be able to meet with you at the university where I teach in central London (Bloomsbury). This may be an exciting opportunity for aspiring university students! I charge for travel costs to areas beyond zones 1 and 2.
When are you available?
I am available on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday during the day and evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all age groups and all levels of learning.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I am able to help prepare students for all qualifications in their respective stage of learning.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype for online tutoring.
Where and with whom did you train?
Please note my university degrees and professional teachers training at the University of London above.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Zeehan undertook an individual study project under my supervision. He was unsure about the topic he wanted to explore and how to get to where he wanted to go. Zeehan also needed considerable help in developing his writing and research skills. Together we explored a range of relevant topics concerning his law degree and began to piece together a narrative or larger argument. Over the course of 9 months and numerous drafts and revisions, Zeehan developed a 15,000 word essay. He achieved a first-class mark for the project.

There are many other examples of students under my supervision that achieve excellent results.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Learning requires hard work, dedication, consistency and a nurturing environment. I will provide the guidance and structure that enable you to develop the skills that allow you to perform at your potential. I also hope to help you to develop a love for learning.