Find UK Tuition

Julian Salisbury - Sociology-Politics-Skype-Online

Julian Salisbury A-level Sociology Tutor (Crewe)

Julian Salisbury Silver Member

  • Crewe (CW1)
  • Last Logged In: 20 May 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Cheshire West and Chester, High Peak, Manchester, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Shropshire, Staffordshire Moorlands, Stockport, Trafford, Warrington & Lymm
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons Government M.Sc Politics and Administration
  • Professional Qualification Doctor of Philosophy D.Phil, PGCE FEHE Exec Dip Management
  • Professional Membership UCU
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
17.3.17 Prices Reduced by £5 PH for block booking of 10 hours.

If you are looking for an exceptionally well qualified tutor who has an ability to establish a rapport quickly and who will enable you to reach your full potential, then contact me.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Sociology is my main subject and I teach all the topic areas on the New Specification. I also teach Government and Politics which includes American politics, British Politics & Comparative Politics, something I studied as a post-graduate and research student. I have also been supporting more University students in subjects such as International Relations, Cultural Studies, Social Studies, Social Work and other areas related to the social and political sciences. I also specialise in supporting University students with their dissertations and thesis research and writing.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons) Government 2.1, M.Sc (Lond.) Politics and Administration, Doctor of Philosophy, American Politics, PGCE in further and higher education, CMI Executive Diploma in Management level 7, Diploma in Educational Leadership. I worked on the Clinton Campaign in 1992 in New York and undertook Doctoral research in Washington DC in October 2001. My work has been highly influential in the area of American political campaign finance regulation and more specifically enforcement and administrative practice. I have qualifications in supporting lower ability learners and have experience in supporting those with spectrum disorders.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 21 years teaching experience and currently work teaching Sociology, Politics and Health and Social Care at an Academy in the North West. I am a highly experienced tutor with a specialism in the online approach with excellent feedback from a large number of former learners and their parents. I write for Nelson Thornes and Hodder Education who are both publishers on 'A' level Sociology and I am an examiner for the New Sociology Specification 7192/2. As far as my politics students are concerned, I teach units 1 and 2 at AS level and have been supporting quite a number of those taking the A2 Ideologies paper. I use a variety of teaching methods and resources and I'm always willing to read up on areas I might not be familiar with in order to give value for money and a quality learning experience. I have had a number of articles published in Sociology Review on crime, religion and education and really enjoy writing non fiction for publication.
How much do you charge?
I charge £25 per hour for a 10 hour block booking. The more hours purchased the lower the hourly rate. 5 hour and 10 hour blocks can be bought via paypal 'buy it now buttons on my website. My time can be used for traditional teaching via Skype video calls, for detailed feedback on essays, dissertations or to improve your UCAS personal statement. I also help University students with very challenging Journal Articles by making the language and the ideas more accessible. For those higher education students needing more support, I can help with essays, editing and improvements and have another website dedicated to this where a free PDF can be downloaded to support those writing dissertations. So in terms of charges, I only charge for the time spent on the educational service, not different prices for different services.
Where do you teach?
Most of my teaching is done online via Skype and students just send a contact invite to marburyeducation; I accept the contact, then we're up and running. This method is really useful because you can avoid the travelling and easily access mark schemes, past papers, internet sources and other media. You can also contact me by phone where my number is posted on my website. Please just look up Marbury Education Services on Google. My new website which specialises in helping University students with extended writing projects, dissertations and Doctoral thesis can be found on Google by typing in doctor thesis dot co dot uk

I am willing to travel to students or they can come to me but the online method actually seems to work best. Julian
When are you available?
7 days a week!
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I primarily teach 16-18 year-olds but I also teach University students. I also support a number of undergraduates with their summative essays and help in the editing process to support them with their dissertations. Recent undergraduate work I have been involved with has been the Underclass, Social Exclusion and Howard Garfinkl's ethnomethodology, Youth Policy and Attachment (yes, a bit of Psychology).
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
AS, A2, Undergraduate and Masters Degrees, Ph.D too.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype and have a a PC that uses logitech Webcam for video calls. I tutor online during the evenings and weekends and significantly discount my hourly rate for this service. Students have found that discussing their essays online has been very helpful and saves them time too! I can research your specific topic beforehand and this really makes the best use of our time online.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
PSA, BAAS, CMI.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained as an undergraduate at the University of Central Lancashire, then went on to take a Post-Graduate degree at the University of London (Birkbeck College). I took my Doctorate at Keele and my PGCE at Manachester Met. I also studied Post-Graduate Management via Cambridge Professional Academy.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have students from level 3 health and social care right up to Ph.D students who are located in this country and abroad. As I am an experienced examiner and a published author of peer reviewed work I can support a range of students.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I recognise that students are all at different levels and have different needs. I offer a quality reliable service that makes the subject enjoyable and meets the demands of the assessments. I have particular expertise with essay and examination technique.

If you are a higher education student looking for support with essays, dissertations and exams then I am the tutor you need to contact. Students projected to achieve a 3rd class degree have come away with a 2.1 having benefitted from my tutorial and editing services. Get the career you want, not a second or third preference.