Find UK Tuition

Karen - 11+ , English, Maths, ESOL Tutor, Sutton, Epsom,Cheam

Karen Pina 11+ exam Tutor (Sutton)

Karen Pina Gold Member

  • Central Sutton (SM2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
.I am qualified and highly experienced with 25 years' experience teaching in reputable schools and Further Education colleges and 1:1 tuition. I really love what I do and have a relaxed and motivating style to help students succeed.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
11+ exam,KS1 English and Maths KS2 English and Maths, KS3 English, ESOL/EFL All Cambridge Exams including CPE, CAE, FCE, Business English and IELTS, English for Specific Purposes. Proof- reading.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Diploma In Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (ESOL/Literacy) London Southbank University. Cert Tefla (Cambridge) Hammersmith & West London College.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have extensive experience teaching to a wide variety of students from many different backgrounds. I started my teaching career in 1993 and have since taught English Language in reputable language schools and Further Education colleges in England, and abroad including to pupils at a bi-lingual secondary school and The National University of Mexico where I taught under-graduates, while at the same time English to executives of multi-national companies. Over the last five years I have built on my teaching experience in the private tutoring sector, teaching both adults and children, maths as well as English. Further, having worked hard to help my own two children gain places at local grammar schools, I fully appreciate the importance of just how committed parents and tutors have to be. With this in mind, I make sure I stay up to date with both exam specifications and materials in order to help my students succeed.
How much do you charge?
40.00 per lesson, which includes targeted preparation, photocopies and some marking of homework, as well as feedback to parents after each session.
Where do you teach?
At my home in Sutton.
When are you available?
I teach Monday to Saturday. Please contact me to discuss.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
5 year olds to adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+ exam KS1-3 All Cambridge suite: including CAE,FCE, BEC1,11,111 and IELTS
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Having worked for FE colleges for many years, I have held enhanced CRB checks. A current one can be arranged.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
IFL
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently have students from year 4 to year 6, including several entered for the 11+ this September, and I am looking to build on my pass rate from last year's entrants. A highlight of last year was teaching one particular student who came to me in January, and together, we worked very hard for him to pass the SET. He then went on to be successful in all the school exams, gaining a place at his first choice grammar school as did 80% of my students.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Teaching to the 11+ is extremely rewarding: watching a child work hard and develop to the extent they can take such a demanding exam is well worth the effort. I always make my lessons interesting and memorable using a variety of teaching techniques in communicative, student-centred lessons; the planning and preparation of which quite often take more time than the actual hour I teach them! Also, I think that homework is important as it helps to consolidate learning which has taken place in the lesson and this will always be set (and feedback given the following session) unless parents or the the adult student requests otherwise.

Finally, I am usually full, but can always place names on my waiting list.