Find UK Tuition

Karen Russell - Dyslexia / Dyscalculia SEN Tutor in Saltdean

Karen Russell Dyslexia Tutor (Brighton)

Karen Russell

  • Rottingdean (BN2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 21 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Lewes
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi, I'm Karen, a level 5 SpLD qualified dyslexia practitioner offering one to one tuition for children of all ages with dyslexia, dyscalculia or dyslexic tendencies. I have a dedicated classroom or can travel to your home.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English and Maths, Phonics, Phonological Awareness, Reading, Handwriting skills and make use of various assistive technology and apps to support dyslexic learners.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA honours degree in childhood and youth studies and a level 5 diploma in teaching learners with specific learning difficulties,
What kind of experience do you have?
I worked in one of the leading specialist dyslexic schools in Surrey for 5 years, teaching one to one and small groups. I now run my own full time tutoring business, teaching children and young people either during the day at school or at their home if they are home educated and from my own home in the evening.
How much do you charge?
I charge £35 per hour for all lessons in my home classroom. If I have to travel the additional cost will be calculated if necessary. I can teach up to 4 children in a group and the cost is £25 per child. The first lesson is an assessment of needs and a little longer in order for me to prepare a specific learning programme. I am happy to meet any parents and children for an informal chat before we undertake any tutoring as the relationship we develop is key.
Where do you teach?
I teach from my home in Saltdean, near Brighton where I have a dedicated classroom and all resources to hand. I can travel to surroundings areas, Peacehaven, Telscombe, Rottingdean, Brighton, Newhaven during the day. Depending on the distance and time of day an additional fee may be charged for travel.
When are you available?
I tutor every day, Monday to Friday during the school day for children who receive pupil premium or are home educated. I work after school from 3.30pm to 6pm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
i teach children of all ages and can also teach adult learners with dyslexia or dyscalculia.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS certificate which is on the update system.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am member of Patoss.
Where and with whom did you train?
I undertook my degree with the Open University and my dyslexia training with Dyslexia Matters. I also hold a certificate in the Phono-Graphix reading programme.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Most of my students are falling behind their peers and as a result of this come to me with little of no confidence in their ability. After meeting them and starting to work together a smile appears back on their face and learning becomes fun again.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I offer fun, multi sensory lessons specifically planned to each learners requirements, ability and learning style. I am calm, patient and care about each student. I enjoy my work and helping others reach their full potential.