Find UK Tuition

Karina LQ - English/ Spanish/ 11 plus Tutor in Abbey Wood

Karina LQ A-level English Tutor (South East London)

Karina LQ Gold Member

  • Abbey Wood (SE2)
  • Last Logged In: 14 Aug 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Bexley, Dartford
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) Jurisprudence (Oxon); Qualified Barrister
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Secondary English (Distinction)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS certified
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
As a fully qualified, outstanding teacher and experienced tutor, I love learning, and I love sharing my passion for learning with my students!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Mainly I teach English, which is my absolute passion! I can also teach Spanish, because I am half-Peruvian and a native Spanish speaker. In the past I have also tutored in law, history, religious studies and maths, but my favourite subject to teach is English! Whether you need me to teach you English for 11+, common entrance, GCSE, sixth form exams or even at undergraduate level, I would be thrilled to help.

This summer, 2017, I have had a very pleasing set of results under the new GCSE and A-level curricula, with one of my GCSE students attaining a level 9 in English Literature!
Tell me about your qualifications.
Ph.D in English Literature - University of Reading - 2015-2018
Masters (Teach First) in Leadership - UCL Institute of Education - 2013-2015 (grade pending)
PGCE (Teach First) in Secondary English - Distinction - Canterbury Christ Church University 2012-2013
Bar Vocational Course - Very Competent - BPP Law School (2008-2009)
BA (Hons) Jurisprudence - Upper Second Class - University of Oxford (2005-2008)
Law Moderations - First Class - University of Oxford (2006)
43 points in the International Baccalaureate (taking 4 Highers in English, Maths, French and History) - United Nations International School (2003-2005)
A in a Free Standing Maths Qualification (2003)
12 A*s at GCSE including top 5 in the country in English Literature (2003)
What kind of experience do you have?
I started tutoring in 2008 when I finished my law degree in order to help pay my way through Bar school. In 2011 I started working at a girls' Catholic school in central London before starting Teach First in 2012. In 2012-2014 I was an outstanding English teacher in comprehensive schools before deciding to become a full-time tutor.

To give you an example of my teaching track record, my A2 students on average attain 1-2 grades above target for the units I teach. In summer 2014 my A-level class at school attained 100% A*-B, with 50% of my students attaining A*s and 2 students attaining full marks in their A2 modules. So if you're taking English Literature in sixth form and need someone to help you excel, get in touch!
How much do you charge?
I don't charge for travel expenses. I am also happy to negotiate on prices if I am going to teach groups of children together, for example for revision lessons. So if you have a group of friends who would like to group together for some sessions, do be in touch!
Where do you teach?
I can teach at your home or in local libraries across South East London, such as Greenwich and Bexley, North Kent or central London.
When are you available?
Because I am a full-time tutor and part-time student, I can be available during the school day or during the evenings. I am available during term time or during school holidays. I try not to work weekends (so I can get time with my husband!) but I do make exceptions if it is urgent!
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I can teach primary, secondary and undergraduate students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare your child for SATs tests, 11+, common entrance, GCSE, IGCSE, A-level, Pre-U or IB as well as for university entrance tests like LNAT or ELAT.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I have an up to date DBS.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My students always find me caring, encouraging and inspiring. I will be really committed to helping you be the very best that you can be! I will do my best to open your eyes to how fun learning can be and hopefully get you to love learning as much as I do!