Find UK Tuition

Krick

Karon Rickatson Elocution/ Accent Reduction Tutor (York)

Karon Rickatson Gold Member

  • Pocklington (YO41) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 20 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Malton & Ryedale, Selby, York
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B.Ed (Geog)
  • Professional Qualification RSA Cambridge Dip.TEFLA, Cert TEFLA

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I enjoy working with people of all ages and from all walks of life. My experience is wide-ranging, so please feel free to consult with me whatever your level or needs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
VOICE WORK, ELOCUTION and ACCENT REDUCTION, PUBLIC SPEAKING SKILLS: pronunciation, confidence coaching, techniques for delivering at your best, overcoming nerves

COMMUNICATION SKILLS: Working effectively with people from diverse cultures and communities

ENGLISH FOR ACADEMIC PURPOSES: academic study skills - writing, seminars, reading, presentations, listening; CCAMBRIDGE EXAMINATIONS: preparation for Business English Certificates (BEC), Proficiency, Advanced (CAE), First Certificate (FCE), IELTS - for native speakers (e.g. Australian visa requirements) and non-native speakers (e.g. conditional offers for university entrance); GCSE English.


SPANISH: GCSE preparation, Spanish toolkit for beginner/intermediate students, advanced discussion, everyday conversation classes, translation. Spanish through literature.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I trained as a primary/middle school Geography teacher, but after getting my B.Ed realized that teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) was probably the best career path for me, so I retrained as an EFL teacher. After teaching for a number of years overseas, I returned to my studies, taking the RSA Diploma in TEFL and preparing for the British Institute of Linguists translation exams in Spanish.
I have Clean Language, coaching and Improvisation skills training and attend CPD courses every year.
What kind of experience do you have?
TEACHING COACHING WORKSHOP LEADER EXAM PREPARATION EXAMINING TRANSLATING
My job is all about helping individuals to focus on their needs, dreams and desires, then working together to decide how best to achieve these goals.
Currently I tutor university students requiring Academic English and study skills, professionals who wish to maximise their skills when using English for business and/or pleasure, and candidates (of all ages) preparing for official examinations, including GCSE Spanish or English. I work with individuals (native and non-native speakers of English) who wish to develop their confidence in public speaking and presentation, as well as delivering bespoke group workshops when required. I am equally comfortable working one-to-one, with a small group, or in a larger class. I also do on-line classes via SKYPE.
My experience has been extremely varied: 20 years + as an EFL/ESP language teacher/consultant; 15 years+ as a Team Leader/Oral Examiner for the Cambridge examinations (e.g. FCE, CAE, Proficiency); experience with students of all ages (youngest 4 yrs, most mature 85 yrs!) with differing objectives; course planning; development of materials for teaching and examining; translation of film scripts, websites, technical manuals, journal articles, conference papers, etc.
More recently, I have had an increasing number of clients interested in accent reduction and voice skills. Working with these clients one-to-one has motivated me to further my Clean Language and coaching skills. Currently, my new passion is Improvisation, and I am incorporating this into my work with great success.
How much do you charge?
Prices start at £38 per person per hour, depending on length/type of course and location. Rates for a pre-paid series of sessions, larger groups, or workshops negotiable. Travel expenses depending on distance/convenience of parking.
Where do you teach?
I can come to your home, you can come to mine, or we can meet in the virtual world of SKYPE - whichever is most suitable. I am based between York and Hull, but am prepared to travel anywhere within reason in North or East Yorkshire. (16 miles round trip free, 45p a mile thereafter).
When are you available?
I have hours available during the week, or at weekends, during the day, or in the evenings. Sorry I cannot be more definite about availability, but my work is irregular - we would need to negotiate a timetable together. During the summer months I have more limited availability due to work commitments.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
All ages, all nationalities, all levels of English. I have worked with university students and academics; working and retired professionals; young learners and adolescents.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
IELTS, Proficiency, CAE, FCE, TOEFL, or other examinations requiring an English test (e.g. Air Traffic Control exams, University entrance exams).
GCSE Spanish, GCSE English
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an application in progress (May 2018)
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have SKYPE and webcam.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am eclectic in my approach and will try to design a course to suit your needs and individual learning style. Unless I feel it is totally inappropriate, I will challenge you with tasks which require creativity and imagination. I believe I am friendly and easy-going and usually establish a good rapport with my students. However, I expect dedication and hard work from you, please!