Find UK Tuition

Kate - English, Dyslexia, IELTS, EFL, Cambridge FCE, Taunton/ Somerset,Exeter

Kate Ainsworth Dyslexia Tutor (Taunton)

Kate Ainsworth Gold Member

  • Comeytrowe (TA1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 14 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Exeter, Sedgemoor, South Somerset
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification DASE, Master of Education
  • Professional Qualification Cert Ed, Literacy Subject Specialist, ESOL Subject Specialist, CELTA, ITOL. (Teaching On Line)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB Enhanced Disclosure
  • Professional Membership Fellow of the Institute for Learning, Member IATEFL
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Improving English skills can be difficult. Spelling can be especially challenging for those with dyslexia. I always do my utmost to help you progress and succeed, if we work hard together you may be surprised at what you can achieve.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My specialism is Englsh. I am continuing to work with a number of younger primary school children, in years 3-6 in both school and home settings with all aspects of English, Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar ( SPaG) and with dyslexic difficulties. I have acted as home tutor for students who are unable to study at school. I tutor GCSE English revision and IGCSE English. I am currently tutoring foreign medical professionals with IELTS preparation. I hold contracts with one international companies supporting staff with dyslexic difficulties and another teaching foreign workers to learn work related English. Other work includes proof reading confidential reports for a geological company and acting as Reader and an OLM ( Oral language Moderator ) for test takers.
Tell me about your qualifications.
i have a Cert of Education and Master of Education, subject specific qualifications - Specialist literacy, Specialist ESOL, CELTA. CELTA Extension (Young People) ITOL. Post Graduate Certificate in SPLD ( dyslexia)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been involved in teaching literacy and English since 1987. ESOL since 1997. I have taught in a range of different settings, FE colleges, University as well as having my own language studio. During 2011 /12 I took on professional, post graduate training for dyslexia and updated my experience in a primary school supporting age 10 children with dyslexic difficulties.
How much do you charge?
An initial 30 minute free consultation is available to establish the student's requirements and set up tutoring sessions. Each sessions is then £25 / £30 p/h except for post graduate studies which are £35. a small fee is added for travelling to home tuition. A discount may be possible for 2 or 3 students working together at the same level.
Where do you teach?
I teach at my studio or I will work at a learner's home. I am willing to travel to the surrounding villages of Taunton Deane, Wellington, Williton, Honiton, Tiverton. Also Exeter, Crediton and the surrounding villages between Exeter and Taunton
When are you available?
I am available during weekdays day time, and evenings. I can also offer weekend day time tuition. Intensive Easter Revision days are available during school / college holidays. the fee for these is negotiated by number of hours reuqired and whether it is 1:1 or for a couple of friends together.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages, from primary school pupils in years, 3 - 6 through secondary school to college students and medical professionals.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE English, International GCSE,,IELTS, Cambridge ESOL suite of qualifications.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I have an enhanced CRB certificate.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
FIFL (Fellow of Institute for Learning.) Member IATEFL ( International Assoc Teachers English as a foreign language) PATOSS ( dyslexia)
Where and with whom did you train?
University of Manchester, University of Bristol. Transfer Paris. University of Plymouth
Tell me about some of your current students.
I work in a primary school on a private basis tutoring children in years 3 - 6 in literacy, spelling and reading.I also have younger children between ages of 7 and 11 who have dyslexic or literacy difficulties.
I Home Tutor a GCSE candidate and assist with English revision for several more students taking exams between January to June. I continue to tutor adults for IELTS exams. I am also tutoring adult students in speaking and listening who have English as a second language and are here in England on secondment from Japan.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Always have faith in yourself and courage to have a try at learning even if it has been difficult in the past. Together we can develop both strategies and specific skills to help you achieve your targets.