Find UK Tuition

Kathy Davies 11+ A level GCSE English Lang Lit, Phil Tuition in Stroud

Kathy Davies 11+ exam Tutor (Gloucester)

Kathy Davies Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA Oxon
  • Professional Qualification NPQH
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Gloucestershire DBS
  • Professional Membership ATL, Oxford Alumni, GTC
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
With 22 years' experience as a successful tutor (11+ to Uni Thesis and Teacher Training), I know I will help you to achieve your best, and teach you how to learn faster and retain more by tapping into your enthusiasms.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English, English Literature and related subjects and Philosophy & Ethics. I can give coaching on other Arts and Humanities subjects up to A Level or IB if the tutee provides the resources. For example: Film Studies, Classical Civilisation, Art History, History, Critical Thinking, General Studies; and Cambridge entrance exam for Human, Social and Political Sciences.

11+ pupils: 2016:100% successful (those whose results I have been told) In 2016, 1 into Pates, 5 into the Denmark Rd, Ribston and Stroud High and one into Marling.
October 2015 (5 tutees: I did alert one parent in May that an 11+ pass was unlikely and she chose to leave at that point rather than continue).
Results so far 2017:(part time candidate) Teacher training - successful in written work, A* in A level Literature; AS Literature C (as hoped), CIE IGCSE 4A*, 1A, 1C, 3 Level 6 with distinction in speaking & listening, 1 level 5.
In June 2016 English & Literature GCSEs 5As, 4 Bs and 1C. 2015 my English GCSE results were 3A* 10A 1B. English Lit results 3A* 6A 6B. Total number of tutees 15.
AS Level: 7 students with very different needs including English as a second language, and 3 with dyslexia - 3A 3B 1C 1D.
A2: 1A, 3C, each one is a personal triumph and I'm proud of all of them. 3 had extensive drama and musical commitments. (2 with dyslexia)
2015: 2A* and 1A at A Level,
Tell me about your qualifications.
MA (Oxford University), Qualified Teacher Status in 1987, National Professional Qualification for Headship 2005-6. I particularly enjoy Oxbridge Entrance Coaching for ELAT.
What kind of experience do you have?
Teaching in State and Independent Schools in the UK: English, English Literature, Philosophy & Ethics and Classical Civilisation and an International School in Uruguay teaching International Baccalaureate English, History and Art. Tuition to all levels including Oxbridge and Adult learners. I have also taught lower school Drama, General Studies A Level and Theory of Knowledge. I have assisted with the planning, redrafting and proof-reading of theses for further degrees. I have given a great deal of in-service training to teachers on Teaching and Learning. I have been an examiner: OCR A/AS English Literature, WJEC GCSE English and International Baccalaureate Higher Level Extended Essays, World Literature. In the past, I have also examined Key Stage 3 and Year 7 Progress. Currently I examine CIE Speaking and Listening.
How much do you charge?
£37 up to 12+, £37 for Common Entrance, £37 GCSE, £47 Post GCSE, depending upon how much preparation I have to do. Fees for adults negotiable according to needs: from £35.00. Taster sessions of 40 minutes can be arranged. I have a very large library so generally would not need reimbursement for texts, as I am likely to have a copy of whatever we are studying. Extra marking outside class, reading of new texts and research: £27 per hour pro rata.
Where do you teach?
In my home in Stroud. Please get in touch via this website and I will give you directions by phone. I have also visited pupils' houses nearby, if there is a very good reason, for example, illness.
When are you available?
I make a timetable with other tutees. I am available every day except Sundays, including school holidays. My own holidays are organised to fit in with pupils.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
8+ to adult; beginners' to advanced English for second language learners; and Oxbridge entrance. I have experience with dyslexic students and a lot of experience with underachievers and Gifted and Talented. I mainly get 11+, GCSE and A Level Literature but have coached other subjects for tutees who feel more confident using me to help them organise and do homework than with a subject related tutor. For example, I have successfully tutored Philosophy and Ethics, History, Geography, Psychology and Classical Civilisation to A Level using mainly the tutees' resources. I do coaching and confidence boosting for Common Entrance and for Grammar School entrance both at 11+ and older. In 2016, I am preparing a candidate for Cambridge Entrance in Human, Social and Political Sciences and proof-reading for two graduates.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+, Common Entrance, KS 3 general coaching including Maths and Sciences mainly with the tutees own resources, GCSE English Language and English Literature, CIE iGCSE, AS/A2/pre-U English Literature and Philosophy & Ethics, Oxbridge entrance in English ELAT, IELT
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype very effectively from age 13. (I believe face-to-face is best for 11+.)
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Oxford Alumni, ATL, (Was a member of the General Teaching Council until it ceased to be.) NCfL though not a very active member.
Where and with whom did you train?
Oxford University degree. I received Qualified Teacher Status in 1987 and my teaching certificate acknowledges that I can teach all age groups (available for inspection)
Tell me about some of your current students.
At present I teach from aged 8 to adults, including university students needing help in organising their theses. I have both very bright, ambitious students aiming for A*s and those with modest English and Literature predictions up to A Level. One boy achieved B B after being predicted E E. He achieved his ambition of getting an engineering apprenticeship with a prestigious company. Another tutee got 2As, well above expectations and his mother is happy to offer a telephone reference. A third achieved the 2 Cs he needed for entry into a prestigious Sixth Form when one of his predictions was G. All credit to his hard work! I also have several bright 11+ candidates with very differing needs who benefit from the focus that one to one tuition provides. I previously taught a pupil who had a serious medical condition and was off school for a year. She achieved A* at A2. Another success story was a very talented sportsman who had less time for study because of his sporting commitments and his dyslexia meant that he couldn't easily catch up on his own, so his confidence was being destroyed. He now has a good job in the States. My current A2 candidates are enthusiastic and intelligent. They needed to develop confidence in their own ability and work on how to find their own critical voice and answer questions at speed. One of my most interesting Tutees was a Year 9 pupil who did Philosophy for fun! I am also teaching English for Business and Engineering. This year 8 out of 9 passed 11+, one applicant to Pates; last year, one won a scholarship to a prestigious private school.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Being an experienced examiner myself, I know what your examiner will want and can help you to achieve that. I can boost your confidence by analysing your strengths and developing your weaker areas. We can work together on homework. If you are prepared to try, I will work hard to ensure that you achieve your best. We start from where you are and I'll teach you how to learn faster and retain more by tapping into your enthusiasms. For younger tutees, I can make Verbal Reasoning fun by inventing sillier questions that practise the same skills. I can also help you to write very well indeed.