Find UK Tuition

Kingston Simon - Biology Tutor in Norbiton, Kingston

Kingston Simon A-level Biology Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Kingston Simon Gold Member

  • Norbiton (KT1)
  • Last Logged In: 20 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.sciencesuccess.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Guildford, Kensington and Chelsea, Merton, Mole Valley, Richmond upon Thames, Sutton, Wandsworth
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc (Hons) Biology from University of Birmingham
  • Professional Qualification PGCE from Oxford University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS with update service
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
For each student, I establish their learning style and tailor a programme of teaching and testing that maximises their chances of exam success…and we have a lot of fun, too!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach all three sciences for the Common Entrance exam at 13+ as well as for the entrance exams to independent schools in the SW London/Surrey area. At GCSE level, I tutor biology, chemistry and physics, including IGCSE, and I specialise in biology at A-level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BSc Hons degree in Biology from the University of Birmingham
PGCE from Oxford University
MEd (Master of Education) degree from the University of Warwick
What kind of experience do you have?
10 years classroom teaching in comprehensive and independent schools
10 years tutoring up to A-level
15 years in educational publishing
How much do you charge?
11+ science tuition - £35/hr
13+ science tuition - £35/hr
GCSE/IGCSE biology tuition - £40/hr
A-level biology tuition - £45hr

Introductory 1 hour session FREE at all levels
NO extra charges for travel
10% discount for Skype sessions
Where do you teach?
I prefer to tutor at students' homes, but can teach at my home in Kingston upon Thames, SW London, by special arrangement. I prefer to travel by public transport up to 45 minutes maximum, but will drive if necessary up to 15 miles/30 minutes.
When are you available?
I can make arrangements to tutor at most times of the day and on most days, including weekends. The important condition is that we establish a routine time and place that we stick to!
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11+ Science
13+ Science for Common Entrance
GCSE and IGCSE Biology
A-level Biology
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have an up-to-date DBS certificate, with the update service.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Contact me to arrange an evening or weekend Skype session. 10% discount on usual rates for online sessions.
Where and with whom did you train?
I obtained my PGCE from Oxford University.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Most recently, a student who obtained a C-grade at A-level, successfully achieved an A-grade in his retake to take up an offer from Sheffield University to study biomedical science.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My message to students: There will be a learning style that works for you. Let's find it and achieve success together!