Find UK Tuition

Latin Tutor in Woking - Dr. Emma Williams

Dr. Emma Williams Latin Tutor (Guildford)

Dr. Emma Williams Silver Member

  • Horsell (GU21) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 30 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced provider of high-quality bespoke Latin tuition both online and face-to-face. A fully qualified Latin teacher with 18 years' experience, I specialise in the Common Entrance and Scholarship examinations but can work at all levels.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialise in the teaching of Latin.
Tell me about your qualifications.
My most relevant qualifications and experience include:
- PGCE Classics, St. John's College, Cambridge; Qualified Teacher Status from the year 2000.
- PhD in Classics, MA Distinction and 1st Class Hons BA from Royal Holloway, University of London.
What kind of experience do you have?
Unlike many private tutors, I have extensive long-term experience in the mainstream classroom as well as through almost two decades of private tutoring. In particular I have the following experience:
- Rated Outstanding as a teacher by Ofsted in all inspections, including most recent (February 2016).
- Extensive private tuition experience with prep school students aiming at Levels 1-3 and Scholarship; further one-to-one experience with private candidates at both GCSE and A level.
- Beginners' Latin Course tutor at Royal Holloway, University of London.
- Professional marker for OCR (A level literature components).
- Small group tutor at the JACT Latin Summer School.
How much do you charge?
My basic rate is £45 per hour but charges will be higher for GCSE or A level studies.
Where do you teach?
For face-to-face tuition I work from home but can also provide online tuition.
When are you available?
During school term times I am available evenings and weekends, although I have much greater flexibility in the school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
My training and teaching experience is at Secondary school level (ages 11-18) however I have taught adults at university and tutored a wide range of ages from 8 to 80.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can help students prepare for GCSE and A-Level exams, and also at university level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
As a full-time teacher since I entered training in 1999 I have held an up-to-date DBS since that date.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Tutors' Association, the Classical Association and the National Education Union.
Where and with whom did you train?
I completed the PGCE course through St John's College, Cambridge. I trained at The Herts & Essex High School and Brentwood School.
Tell me about some of your current students.
In addition to my full time teaching I am currently tutoring several students at local prep schools and one online who attends a prep school in Hemel Hempstead. I also have a couple of students working towards Latin GCSE.