Find UK Tuition

Liz - Maths and English - Primary KS3 GCSE - Specialist Online Tutor

Liz Garton 11+ exam Tutor (Peterborough)

Liz Garton Gold Member

  • Stamford (PE9) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 15 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Corby, East Northamptonshire, Harborough, Melton, Peterborough, Rutland
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Masters degree
  • Professional Qualification PGCE with QTS
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS disclosure
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other online tutors)

Personal Message
I am a friendly, approachable and professional tutor with several years of teaching and tutoring experience. I offer a positive learning experience and focus on building my students' confidence.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My main focus is preparing children for 11+ and entrance exams. In recent years I have helped children achieve admission to numerous grammars and independents, including Bourne, Stamford, Oundle, Uppingham and King's.

I also teach English at all levels, from primary through to GCSE and beyond.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I qualified as a teacher in 2010. I have a PGCE from Bradford College and an MA Hons from St Andrews University. After several years of classroom teaching, I am now a full-time professional tutor.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching and tutoring for over 15 years - including 1:1, small groups and whole class teaching. My students have included those with ASD, dyslexia and behavioural problems, as well as those who are gifted and/or talented. As a tutor I have taught English to children who have been excluded from mainstream education, children who are home-schooled, those who are struggling to keep up with class work and those whose high abilities are not stretched at school.
How much do you charge?
Standard fees: My usual fee is £35 or £40 per hour, depending on age/level. This includes travel to your home and all required resources. There are no hidden charges. Group discounts are available - please enquire.
Where do you teach?
I teach online and/or in my students' homes. I am based in Stamford but I also tutor in Peterborough, Corby, Bourne and the villages in between. This includes parts of Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire, Rutland, Leicestershire and Northamptonshire.
When are you available?
I tutor between 10 am and 9 pm, Monday to Saturday. Please enquire for details of time slots which are currently available.

During school holidays I can usually offer intensive tuition blocks to suit the client.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach children from age 5 to 18, including key stage 1, key stage 2, 11+, key stage 3, GCSE and A level. I also teach adults who need help with functional skills or who are taking skills test for career purposes.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for 11+ common entrance exams, key stage 2 SATs, GCSEs and A levels.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up to date enhanced DSB certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Tuition takes place via Zoom and Scribblar. There's no need to download anything - you just click on a web link and enter our virtual classroom.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My aim for all of my students, whatever their age and ability, is that they enjoy their learning and grow in confidence. My sessions are fun but intensive - I expect the same level of respect, commitment and enthusiasm from my students that I give to them.