Find UK Tuition

Study skills/English lang./interview prep. Staines, Louise Walton

Louise Walton English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher (Twickenham)

Louise Walton Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification TEFL/Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (CELTA)
  • Professional Qualification BA History and Ancient History; MA Mediterranean Studies; Postgraduate Diploma in Christian Theology
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have an enhanced DBS certificate for working with adults (18+)
  • Professional Membership The Tutor Association


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a friendly, qualified, and helpful tutor with ten years' experience of tutoring adults including university students. I can help you communicate more clearly and correctly so that you can be more successful, self-confident and satisfied.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Academic study skills and dissertation tuition;
Presentation skills and public speaking;
Interview preparation and stress management;
English language (TEFL) and grammar tuition (to native and non-native speakers);
I offer exam revision and preparation, and exam stress management.
I offer Business English tuition in certain fields.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (CELTA), International House London (this is a TEFL qualification);
BA (Hons) History and Ancient History, University of Exeter;
MA Mediterranean Studies, University of Exeter;
Postgraduate Diploma in Christian Theology, Heythrop College, University of London;
Grade Five Singing, Grade Five Clarinet. (Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have ten years' experience of tutoring university students in academic English and study skills (under- and postgraduates). I created and led workshops for students on improving writing, presentation, stress management, and revision skills.
I have proofread and edited a number of dissertations and theses for students and friends as well as numerous academic texts for work colleagues and friends. This is in addition to my seven years' experience of writing my own essays and dissertations for my three university degrees.
As part of my CELTA/TEFL qualification process I taught intermediate and advanced English classes to non-native English speakers aged 16-40.
I worked for one year in Parliament as an intern, writing briefings for my MP and researching topics as requested, followed by three years working in the Church of England, and then the next eight years in Higher Education.
As a former University Chaplain (religious minister) I have many years' experience of public speaking, reading, performance and singing. I have Grade 5 Singing and Clarinet.
I have tutored adults and children in reading publicly for Church and civil occasions.
How much do you charge?
I normally charge £40 per hour for a one-to-one session in person or online if preferred.
Depending on the distance required if I travel to you I may charge a little more but this would be agreed in advance.
A discount could be arranged if I were teaching two or three students together, so long as they shared similar requirements.
I offer a discount (the cost of one session) if you book ten lessons in advance. (For example, ten lessons booked and paid in advance would cost £360, not £400). You can, of course, have a single session beforehand at normal cost (to try me out) before making a block booking.
Where do you teach?
For online tuition I am based at home and I use Skype or Facebook Messenger.
For face-to-face tuition I can be flexible regarding location, depending upon what suits you best. I am willing to work in local libraries, cafes etc, I am prepared to offer tuition in my home but only in the evening or weekend.
I live in Staines-upon-Thames (in Surrey) which is close to Windsor, Feltham, Heathrow Airport, and Royal Holloway, University of London. It is very easy to reach from the M25 and not far from the M3 and M4 junctions with the M25. Guildford, Reading, Kingston-upon-Thames and Uxbridge are all under an hour's drive from Staines.
I can only travel locally but can offer online tuition to you if you are not local.
When are you available?
I am available most evenings and Saturdays for tuition, whether online or in person, normally for sessions lasting an hour.
I can offer longer sessions if needed, especially on a Saturday.
If daytime (weekday) tuition is preferred this can be arranged but would have to be arranged well in advance.
I operate throughout the year during term time and school holidays.
If you wanted a more intensive course, this could also be arranged.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I only offer tuition to adults.
I teach English language and grammar tuition from intermediate level upwards for non-native English speakers, and at any level for native English speakers.
I have particular experience and expertise in teaching academic English and study skills for university-level study.
I offer tuition in public speaking at any level.
I provide exam and interview preparation, and stress management at any level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.
I prepare my tutees for all sorts of exams and interviews.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an enhanced DBS Certificate for working with adults (18+).
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I offer tuition via Skype and Facebook Messenger, and with email support if requested.
Proofreading and editing can be provided mainly via email with some telephone or Skype/Messenger calls if needed.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Tutors Association.
Former member of the Conference of Catholic Chaplains in Higher Education.
Where and with whom did you train?
I completed my English Language tuition (CELTA TEFL) qualification at International House London, which is validated by Cambridge University.
I read my undergraduate and Masters degrees at the University of Exeter, and I read my postgraduate diploma at Heythrop College, University of London.
With regard to public speaking/performance tuition my Grade 5 Singing and Clarinet were taken with The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music .
Do you have a personal message for students?
Communication (spoken and/or written) doesn't have to be exhausting, terrifying or painful. With my help we can make it fun, positive and easier.
I can help you better express what you want to say or write, and to understand the written and spoken world around you.
This will help you be more successful, confident, effective and relaxed.