Find UK Tuition

Luisa Romano - Italian and English Tutor

Luisa Romano Italian (general) Tutor (Croydon)

Luisa Romano Silver Member

  • Warlingham (CR6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 May 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Bromley, Crawley, Croydon, Mid Sussex, Reigate and Banstead, Sevenoaks, Wealden

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification Pedagody (Study of teaching methods)
  • Professional Qualification Certificate in Education
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other online tutors)

Personal Message
Talk Italiano and English with Luisa Romano......!!!!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Italian and English
Tell me about your qualifications.
2006 - 2008 University of Sussex - Level 4/5 Certificate in Education (DTTLS).
1997 - 1998 University of Rome, FORCOM, Italy. Certificate in Social Psychology.
1992 - 1996 University of Cassino, Italy. Degree in Pedagogy (Study of Teaching Methods).
What kind of experience do you have?
Hi! My name is Luisa and I am Italian. I lived in UK for 20 years. I lived in a little town near London. In 2013 I decided to start a new adventure and came here in Rome where I teach Italian and English, mainly online. Teaching is the career that gives me most enjoyment and reward, and the feedback I receive on a regular basis (from students and colleagues) tells me that my enthusiasm for teaching Italian is passed on to my students.
I am qualified teacher. I have a degree in Pedagogy, which I took in 1996 at the University of Cassino. I have also a Certification in Education, which I took at the University of Sussex. In England I used to teach Italian (from beginner to advanced level) in FE Colleges and Universities. I now teach Italian online and English in companies and online too.
How much do you charge?
Rates for One-to-One Tuition:
One hour lesson: £28
90 minutes lesson: £40
2hrs lesson: £50
First lesson/Trial Lesson 45 minutes:£25

Rates for Group Tuition (3- 4 persons):
90 minutes lesson: £17 per person
2hrs lesson: £20 per person

I also arrange workshops (rates to be advised on request)
Where do you teach?
I am happy to teach at my home and online
When are you available?
MONDAY from 07.00 to 19.00
TUESDAY from 07.00 to 19.00
WEDNESDAY from 07.00 to 19.00
THURSDAY from 07.00 to 19.00
FRIDAY from 07.00 to 19.00
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Ages: from 10 to 100 and over!
Courses: Beginners, Intermediate, Advanced, Conversational, Holidays, Business, Culture, Grammar only.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have a CRB disclosure certificate (June 2008).
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Skype.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Since 2007 I have been a member of the Institute for Learning.
Where and with whom did you train?
I got my degree in Pedagogy and the Certificate in Sociology in Italy. I also have the Cert Ed (Certificate in Education) gained at the University of Sussex.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My teaching style is very friendly and professional. The content of the course is always discussed with the students so I can meet their needs.
I enjoy variety in my teaching, and it is also necessary to meet the needs of different students:
• As standard practice I use CD player, games, online quizzes, and power point presentations in my lessons, but the emphasis of activity is on communication and dialogue and we spend a lot of time practicing listening and speaking.
• My individual tuition focuses even more strongly on conversational Italian, especially where the students have been more advanced.
• My role at the University where I run the course online places unique demands on me as a tutor. Not being able to see your students means that you need to adapt your communication style and place even more emphasis on clear and positive feedback than in a normal classroom environment.