Find UK Tuition

Luzia - Maths, Science & German Tutor in Mill Hill, NW London

Dr Luzia Trobinger GCSE Physics Tutor (North West London)

Dr Luzia Trobinger

  • Mill Hill (NW7)
  • Last Logged In: 03 Jun 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Brent, Camden, City of London, Harrow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Westminster
Contact Me


(click on the subjects to see other online tutors)

Personal Message
I am an enthusiastic science and maths tutor with prior experience of teaching children from a range of backgrounds and age groups. I work with several well-known agencies, and am truly passionate about what I do.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I mainly teach Maths, Physics, Chemistry and German. I am also happy to provide homework support, exam preparation, interview preparation and general mentoring.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BEng in Aerospace Systems Engineering, which was awarded by the University of Glasgow, as well as having recently completed a PhD in Neuroscience at UCL.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have experience teaching children from different academic backgrounds, at varying skill levels and with different tuition needs. Past clients have included very academic students attending fee-paying schools who wanted an extra challenge outside of the classroom, as well as students with confidence issues, and those who were unable to get the maximum benefit from classroom teaching for a variety of reasons. I always tailor content to each student's needs, and I do my utmost to make sure content is presented in an engaging way, whilst also focusing on achieving the best results possible within a given time frame. I also work with pupils' parents to make sure everyone stays in the loop, and progress is as rapid as possible.
Professionalism and results are my top priorities - I am passionate about what I do and I want students to get the most out of every single lesson. There is nothing more rewarding than a pupil achieving his/her goals!
I also work with agencies, including Ivy Education and Communicate Well.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 for most lessons. If you think I am the right tutor for your child, please don't hesitate to get in touch - I am a tutor because I am passionate about helping pupils achieve their goals, and under I may be able to offer a discount e.g. for block bookings or off-peak bookings (weekdays between 9 am and 2 pm). I am also able to offer a discount for online lessons - please get in touch for details.
In addition to individual lessons, I am happy to teach small groups of children, if a suitable location can be arranged. Pricing for these would depend on the number of participants, hours required, and location.
Where do you teach?
I teach at students' homes, at my home and online. I am based in Mill Hill, but am willing to travel to all NW postcodes, as well as to Norht, West and Central London.. Again, please do not hesitate to contact me - sometimes I can arrange lessons such that travel to areas that are further afield becomes an option.
When are you available?
I have slots available seven days a week, although weekday evening slots tend to book up quickly. I teach all day Sunday and Saturday, and I also teach on bank holidays. I always try my best to accommodate students' requirements, so please don't hesitate to get in touch.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
All ages and levels up to undergraduate level. The ages of my current student range from 6 to 60, and I always tailor content to the specific age group/skill level of individual pupils.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
A-levels, GCSEs, common entrance exams, university interviews.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an enhanced DBS certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to provide online tuition. I am able to offer a discount for online lessons - please contact me for rates and arrangements.
Where and with whom did you train?
I have a BEng degree in Aerospace Systems Engineering from the University of Glasgow, and I have recently completed a PhD in Neuroscience at UCL. I have also attended seminars on providing tuition for 7/8/11+ exams. I am a bit of a geek and have a particular interest in programming and machine learning, so I often take short courses to improve my skills in these areas.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have been providing Maths tuition to an 11-year-old student who is struggling with confidence and focus issues. Although he is very bright, he tends to underestimate his own skills and qualities, often becoming discouraged as a result. Rather than focusing on maths only, we have adapted a ‘dual’ approach of combining maths with physics, as this particular student has a great interest in physics and astrophysics. This way, lessons are more engaging and he is also able to see how abstract maths concepts are applied in a practical framework.

I have also been working with a very bright 6-year-old, who already has impressive literacy and numeracy skills. We are focusing mainly on maths, introducing new concepts in a playful way. As this student is very young, I often use games in our lessons, such as addition and subtraction card games, flash cards, and interactive exercises, which involve activities such as drawing or role play. One of this student’s favourite ‘games’ is a ‘role reversal’: After going over material, she gets to teach me, which she always really enjoys.

Over the last year, I helped a student achieve his goal of getting an A in his Physics GCSE. He was highly motivated as he wants to do Engineering at University, but that also put pressure on him in terms of getting a good GCSE result. What was particularly enjoyable about this assignment was that I learned a lot from my pupil, as well - he had such a keen interest in the subject that he always asked brilliant questions and kept me on my toes, as well!
Do you have a personal message for students?
I really focus on each individual student's needs and I want to make sure that lessons offer a good balance of enjoyment and academic rigour. I want my students to succeed, and it is really important to me to provide the best possible support, whatever a pupil's academic background or specific challenges may be. The first step is always to draw up a tuition plan, which is then updated after every lesson to make sure that goals are reached within the given time frame. I also make sure that content is tailored to each individual pupil's needs - I want to foster a love of learning and a sense of confidence and achievement, which is only possible in a supportive environment.