Find UK Tuition

Maths and English Tutor in Beverley and surrounding areas

Maximising Potential Key Stage 2 Maths Tutor (Hull)

Maximising Potential Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons Degree in Social Studies
  • Professional Qualification PGCE in Primary Education
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS updated October 2014
  • Professional Membership NUT, Chamber of Commerce
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a friendly and inspiring tutor who enjoys working with students in an individualised way.

My approach is calm and encouraging which enables me to build a rapport with students.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My main subjects are English and Mathematics, as well as entrance test preparation subjects and Sociology.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA Hons Degree in Social Studies and a PGCE in Primary Education
What kind of experience do you have?
I provide bespoke learning programmes of one to one tuition in Maths or English, supporting a wide range of tuition needs.
Tuition is mostly face to face and takes place in the Hull and East Riding areas.

By focussing on establishing a positive relationship with each student, my students either achieve or exceed their learning targets.

I am experienced at preparing students for exams, including SATs, GCSEs, IELTs and entrance tests as well as intensive short-term revision work to prepare students for a
particular exam such as resits.

I have also supported many students whose second language is English, who may be seeking to improve their communication skills within their workplace or preparing
for school exams, and successfully prepared many adult learners for the QTS skills tests in Literacy and Numeracy, as well as IELTS and iGCSEs.

I also offer a proofreading service to under-graduate and post-graduate students who are studying a variety of subjects from Business Management to Chemistry.

Here are a few of the comments that have been made by some of my students:

"Great tuition, made a big difference to my son's GCSE exam results." David - South Hunsley School

" I now feel more confident in writing, spelling and grammar" and "communication via email and telephone was excellent". Peter - Armed Forces

"Tina has achieved excellent results for our daughter in GCSE English" and that she is "personable and has high integrity". Graham - Hull Collegiate

" My son has gained in confidence and ability since receiving tuition. He has enjoyed his sessions and has felt more able to tackle challenging work."

Vicky - Beverley Grammar School
How much do you charge?
My hourly fees start at £39.00 for Key Stages 1 and 2, £42.00 for Key Stage 3, £45.00 for GCSE level, £48.00 for tuition at 'A' level and £52.00 for undergraduates.

If tuition takes place at your premises and you live within a 5 mile radius, there are no extra charges. If my journey exceeds this distance, however, an additional amount of
around £5.00 will be added to the fee.
Where do you teach?
I offer tuition at both my premises and at students' homes within Hull and the East Riding, including Beverley, Brough, South Cave, Driffield, Cottingham, Hessle etc
When are you available?
I am available during weekdays from 9.00 am to 8.00 pm and during school holidays, if required.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages and ability levels, including Key Stages 1, 2, 3, GCSE, 'A' level and undergraduate
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, iGCSE, IELTS, 'A' level, QTS in Numeracy and Literacy, Levels 1, 2 and 3 in National Literacy and Numeracy Tests
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
National Union of Teachers
Where and with whom did you train?
Manchester Polytechnic, Didsbury School of Education
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently supporting an 11 year old boy who has recently moved to England from his home in Thailand. After only a few lessons, he is beginning to become a
confident and proficient speaker and listener and his writing is also becoming more clear and fluent.

Another pupil is in Year 6 and I have been supporting her for the past year. She began with a very low confidence level in her own abilities, both in Maths and English.
She has made very good progress and is now able to solve a variety of problems mentally and also enjoys solving everyday problems at home.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I encourage students to take responsibility for their own learning, providing advice on study techniques and helping them to identify the areas where they need the most help.