Find UK Tuition

Marc Loewenthal - English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher in Wembley, Brent, Harrow, W London

Marc Loewenthal English as a Foreign Language (EFL) Teacher (Harrow)

Marc Loewenthal Gold Member

  • Wembley Central (HA0) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 27 May 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.eflworksheets.com
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Camden, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Kensington and Chelsea, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons Russian and Linguistics
  • Professional Qualification Dip TEFLA RSA, Cert in FE Stage 3 Level 5 with ESOL, MA Education (TESOL)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have a current DBS/CRB
  • Professional Membership Learning and Performance Institute
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly experienced and qualified English teacher with a wealth of experience in preparing students to pass exams, so you can be assured of the highest standard of preparation.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialise in teaching EFL and ESOL, especially for exam preparation. I am also a specialist in Pronunciation, which I teach to students at Level 1 and higher at the Mary Ward Centre in London. I have developed effective methods to help with mastering the phonemes of standard British English as well as stress, intonation and connected speech. I can prepare students for Cambridge FCE, CAE and CPE, as well as IELTS. I am co-author of IELTS Mindset, the IELTS preparation book from Cambridge University Press, published in September 2017.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I took a Prep Cert RSA (now CELTA) in 1981, a Dip TEFLA RSA (now DELTA) in 1985, an MA Education (TESOL) at the Institute of Education between 1990 and 1993, an MSc in Multimedia Applications Development at Middlesex University in 2002-3 and my Certificate in Further Education Stage 3 Level 5 with the ESOL Subject Specialisation in 2005. I am a fully qualified English language teacher.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught for over 30 years, mostly in the UK, but also in Greece, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Russia and Pakistan. I have taught Business English, ESP, EAP, EFL, ESOL and IT, and I have worked as a Director of Studies and Course Director. I also have many years of experience as a speaking and writing examiner and materials writer. More recently I have been working in e-learning and educational technology. My experience in the UK has been mostly teaching ESOL and teaching exam preparation classes.
How much do you charge?
I charge £35 per hour for one-to-one private tuition and £50 per hour for two students together. This includes marking of work done between classes, detailed feedback and progress reports.
Where do you teach?
I live in Wembley and I can travel to any area in Central London, North-West London, especially Wembley and Harrow, West London and South-West London. I do not currently teach at home.
When are you available?
I am currently available most of the week, including weekends, apart from Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach adults generally, though I am happy to teach anyone from 16 and above.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I specialise in preparing students for IELTS, FCE, CAE and CPE.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Not at the moment
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am planning to set up an online tutoring facility, but I am happy to mark work electronically and return by email.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belong to the Learning and Performance Institute, which specialises in IT training.
Where and with whom did you train?
I studied Russian and Linguistics at the University of Lancaster (1976-1980). I studied for my Dip TEFLA RSA at Hammersmith and West London College in 1984-5. I studied for my MA Education (TESOL) at the Institue of Education at London University from 1990 to 1993. I Studied for my MSc in Multimedia Applications Development at Middlesex University in 2002-3. I studied for my Cert FE Stage 3 at Harrow College in 2004-5.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have a private Spanish student on Monday and Wednesday studying for CPE. Over the years he has passed FCE and CAE with me.
Do you have a personal message for students?
If you choose me as a tutor to help you prepare for your English exam, you can be assured of the highest level of help, care and quality to enable you to have the best chances of succeeding. I will tell you honestly what your level is, what you need to do to improve in all your skills (reading, writing, listening and speaking), what chances you have of getting a good grade and when you should attempt the exam. I will also help you with the application process.