Find UK Tuition

German/ English Tuition within a 30 mile radius of St. Leonards-on-Sea

Marion German (general) Tutor (Tonbridge)

Marion

  • Ashdown (TN37) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 20 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Ashford, Eastbourne, Maidstone, Tonbridge and Malling, Tunbridge Wells
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
It is very important to me that a good student-teacher rapport is achieved during tuition. I like working a relaxed atmosphere which certainly enhances the learning process and has a positive influence on focusing on the subject matter.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach German for all levels from beginners to business and university students.I also teach EFL and Business English
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am a native German speaker and have German teaching qualifications which are equivalent to a PGCE qualification. Furthermore I am also a fully qualified translator and I am fully bilingual.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 25 years experience in teaching and translating. I have worked for various schools, colleges as a language teacher and additionally I work as an examiner/moderator for the International Baccalaureate.
I also have over 20 years experience teaching English as a foreign language.
In the last 10 years I have been working in different types of industry as a bi-lingual PA and account manager alongside offering language tuition.
How much do you charge?
£ 25/hr for one-to-one tuition (beginners German & conversation), £30/hr for exam preparation, £ 40/hr for groups (min. 3 people) , £ 35/hr for business .
I give 5% discount for students who book 10 lessons in advance.
Where do you teach?
I am willing to travel to students' homes in East Sussex and some parts of Kent ( Tunbridge Wells, Maidstone & Tonbridge and surroundings)
When are you available?
TBA - please contact me for further information on availability.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have teaching & tutoring experience across all age groups (including young children and business clients) and I am happy teaching at all levels.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, AS & A2, IB Diploma, Proficiency exams etc.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have a recent CRB certificate.A copy of my CRB certificate can be obtained on request
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
This can be arranged with the student on his/her individual requirements - I am very flexible.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I was a member of the Institute of Linguists for over 15 years
Where and with whom did you train?
For my teaching degree I trained in Germany at the university in Essen (North Rhine Westphalia) and I attended a course at the Institute of Linguists for my diploma in translation in London.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I currently teach a range of individual students and some small groups. Among others I am tutoring for GCSE/A-Level exams and I have several German business groups (in-house training).

I also teach EFL for foreign students up to business level.
Do you have a personal message for students?
German is one of the most important European languages and German is a vibrant language. A language is not just a framework of grammar and vocabulary but also a cultural medium.Many people feel intimidated by the thought of learning a new language and some people think that they may be too old to learn, but in my personal experience nearly all my previous students (including an 85 year old lady) have enjoyed learning German and often discovered skills they thought they did not have.
Learning a language can also enhance confidence in speaking and communicating with others.