Find UK Tuition

Mark H - Maths Physics Chemistry Engineering Tutor, Shrops/Hereford

Mark H A-level Physics Tutor (Shrewsbury)

Mark H Gold Member

  • Ludlow (SY8) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 04 Aug 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Herefordshire, Wyre Forest
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA Cambridge University
  • Professional Qualification Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB updated 2012
  • Professional Membership Society for Education and Training
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am 54 years old, and married with 2 grown-up children. I teach Physics at Herefordshire & Ludlow College and enjoy sharing my enthusiasm for Maths, Physics and Engineering.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Engineering topics, Excel, Technical communication
Tell me about your qualifications.
MA, Cambridge University, 1988
QTLS
MSET
AMIMechE
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been a part-time professional tutor since 2006, and have taught over 100 students since then, mostly on extended courses leading to exams. I have a Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (DTLLS), and have experience teaching international students and business professionals.
How much do you charge?
Free initial meeting and assessment of student requirements at my home.
Where do you teach?
Usually from home in Ludlow. In special circumstances I travel to students' homes, usually for extended lessons (2 hours or more).
When are you available?
Monday to Saturday. From Monday to Thursday during term time I am generally available from 3pm, Friday from 4pm, and on Saturdays & outside term from 10 am.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
From 11 upwards (including adults) for scholarships/common entrance, GCSE, A-level and University level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for entrance/scholarship exams, GCSE, IGCSE and A-levels.
At University level my subjects are Engineering (most branches) and any technical subjects.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes (2012).
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I offer a service where a student sends me questions by email. I prepare detailed worked solutions to the questions and notes for the student's reference. I also provide written critiques to a student's own worked solutions sent by email. This service must be pre-arranged with the student well in advance.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Society for Education and Training, Institute of Mechanical Engineers, Association of Christian Teachers.
Where and with whom did you train?
Cambridge University BA & MA in Engineering
Teacher training at Ludlow College, where I now work part-time.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My principle is summed up as "Solving a problem simply means representing it so as to make the solution transparent" (H A Simon). I aim to give students the confidence to take ownership of their own learning, and provide them with the techniques to do themselves justice in exams.