Find UK Tuition

Mary - English Tuition, Literacy, 11+/ Common Entrance, IELTS/ FCE Tuition in Salisbury

Mary Guiver 11+ exam Tutor (Salisbury)

Mary Guiver

  • Salisbury (SP3)
  • Last Logged In: 12 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have recently taken early retirement from my position as Head of English in a local prep school and have over 35 years experience.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English /Literacy/11+preparation/Keystage 2and 3/Common Entrance/GCSE Language/ and Literature /Adult literacy and English as a Foreign language.
Tell me about your qualifications.
B,Ed (Hons) Cert Ed. TEFL
What kind of experience do you have?
Twenty-four years as Head of English at local prep school but wider experience in teaching English at both primary and secondary levels. I am also a qualified and very experienced teacher of English as a foreign language.
How much do you charge?
£25 -£32 depending on level, including travelling in most cases.
Where do you teach?
I can travel to students' homes for after school lessons. However, if pupils come to me there may be some reductions in fee and there is the added benefit that I have all my resources to hand. I would prefer not to travel more than a 15 mile radius from Wylye.
When are you available?
I am usually free Monday to Thursday, including school holidays. I can also tutor at home during the weekend.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Key Stage 2 and 3. 11+ and 13+ Preparation, Common Entrance and GCSE.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Grammar School Entrance at 11+ and 13+/Common Entrance/GCSE
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Where and with whom did you train?
Christ Church University College, Canterbury (Cert Ed.)/ University of London (B.Ed, Hons)
Tell me about some of your current students.
Alice,10 (general literacy); Matthew, 12 (Common Entrance); Sam (adult learner, practising essay planning/ non-fiction writing for GCSE); Bronte, 10 (11+ preparation/ independent school entrance exam); James, 10 (11+ preparation); Imogen,9 (handwriting and general literacy); Sasha, 10 (independent school entrance at 11); Claudia (13+ preparation - Passed!); Georgina (13+ preparation -Passed!)
Do you have a personal message for students?
I aim to help students build confidence and enjoyment in reading and writing in order to benefit fully from their lessons at school.