Find UK Tuition

Mary-Jannet Leith - History/Latin Tutor in Hammersmith

Mary-Jannet Leith A-level History Tutor (West London)

Mary-Jannet Leith Gold Member

  • Ravenscourt Park (W12) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 06 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Web site: www.mary-jannetleith.com
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Hounslow, Kensington and Chelsea
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA Hons in Ancient and Modern History (Oxford)
  • Professional Qualification Masters in Ancient History (Oxford)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Check dated October 2013
  • Professional Membership Incorporated Society of Musicians

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly experienced and friendly tutor with over 5 years of tutoring experience. I have a postgraduate level degree in History from Oxford University, and am enthusiastic and dedicated to helping my students achieve their goals.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Modern History, Ancient History, Latin, Classical Civilisation, and prepare students for University Entrance, including Oxbridge interview practice and helping them to write effective personal statements.
Tell me about your qualifications.
My qualifications are as follows:

MA (Hons) in Ancient and Modern History from the University of Oxford (2006-2009) - First Class Honours
Master of Philosophy in Ancient History from the University of Oxford (2009-2011) - Distinction
Master of Performance in Historical Performance from the Royal College of Music (2011-2013) - Distinction
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 6 years of tutoring experience both in Oxford and central London, and have been teaching some of my current students for over 5 years, taking them through GCSE all the way though to the University and beyond. Most of my longer term students have been studying History, Latin, or English, but I have also prepared students for Sixth-form entrance tests and interviews on a short term basis. I have taught a wide variety of different levels and ages, from beginner Latin to A-level Ancient History and degree-level History. As an Oxford graduate, I have a great deal of experience and knowledge of the Oxbridge admissions system, and am able to act as an educational consultant for applications. Over the past few years I have helped several students tailor their personal statements for university entrance, and make the best possible choices on their UCAS application.
How much do you charge?
My hourly rate is £40 for GCSE, A-level and University preparation. For history support at degree level, I charge £50 per hour. I don't charge extra for travel unless the location for lessons is outside Zone 1-2 Central London, and then I simply add a small travel charge to teach lesson fee, depending on the London travelcard zone.
Where do you teach?
I am very happy to teach at my own home, and at students' homes within Central London generally, as long as the lesson is within 30-45 minutes of my home (by public transport).
When are you available?
My availability is flexible, as much of my work is freelance (I am a professional musician as well as an academic tutor). For after-school sessions, I am currently available on week-day evenings, and on Sunday afternoons. Much will depend on your exact location, so please do contact me, and I will reply within 24 hours.

Outside school term, I am generally available during the day time for extra lessons/revision sessions in the lead up to exam season. I also have daytime availability regularly, so I can teach during the day if the student is home-schooled or has breaks in their school schedule.

I currently have a few spaces for the coming academic year, from September 2017.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
In terms of academic tuition, I have taught a wide range of students from Year 8 to Sixth Form, and have prepared several students for University Entrance. I am very familiar with the University system in the UK, and can advise regarding entrance preparation, particularly applications to Oxford and Cambridge.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Over the past few years, I have prepared students for GCSE and A-level History, GCSE Latin, Classical Civilisation, and have also helped prepare English GCSE. I am particularly familiar with the syllabus and marking requirements for OCR, but have detailed working knowledge of other major exam boards as well, and always make sure that I am fully prepared to target my support to each student's particular syllabus. I have also prepared students for Latin Common Entrance in the past.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, Enhanced DBS, October 2013.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
In terms of online tutoring, I usually ask students to send me work by e-mail, which I can mark and return to them with suggestions. I also suggest that we use Skype to discuss pieces of work, particularly if the work is for A-level or University Standard.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
ISM (Incorporated Society of Musicians).
Where and with whom did you train?
I studied at Trinity College, Oxford University, gaining first class degrees at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. I studied with several wonderful academic historians, including Bryan Ward-Perkins (Trinity College), the classicist Dr Miriam T. Griffin (Somerville College) and Dr Jonathan Prag (Merton). I also enjoyed writing up my Masters thesis with the support of the historian Dr Brian Young (Christ Church) and studying numismatics with Chris Howgego, Keeper of the Heberden Coin Room at the Ashmolean Museum.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Currently, I am providing support to a family whom I have been teaching for over five years - I have successfully helped their elder daughter achieve a place at the University of Warwick to study Law, and have also this year helped their younger daughter make decisions regarding University entrance, prepare her personal statement and supported her in her preparation for her humanities A-levels: she has just received her A-level results of A*AA. This past academic year, I have also supported 4 students studying GCSE History (OCR and IGCSE), helping them at the same time to start thinking about their university and career plans. I also will continue to support two students with GCSE/IGCSE Latin, focusing on grammar and the tricky literature section of the exam.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I thoroughly enjoy teaching, and strongly believe that one-to-one tutoring, whether or not for exam preparation, should not be a chore for either the teacher or the student. I take great joy in finding different ways to help my students improve their grades or feel more comfortable in their studies - I endeavour always to tailor my teaching style to the needs of each student. I find that best results are achieved when the student is committed and interested, and I am able to convey my own enthusiasm for the subject to them. With hard work on both sides, it is always possible to achieve your goals and ambitions!