Find UK Tuition

Philip Singleton - Maths Tutor (Cobham, Oxshott, Fetcham, Bookham, Leatherhead, or ONLINE)

Philip Singleton GCSE Maths Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Philip Singleton Silver Member

  • Cobham and Downside (KT11) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Aug 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Mole Valley
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification 1st class honours in Mathematics
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS (CRB Check) as at March 2014
  • Professional Membership Member of the Institute of Mathematics


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
My first job was actually as a Mathematician - in the nuclear industry. I have since used my mathematical skills in all sorts of ways in other industries. Maybe I can explain "why" it's useful to know some of this stuff, as well as "how".
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a 1st class honours degree in Mathematics from Imperial College, London. I am also a Member of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (MIMA), and a Chartered Mathematician (C Math).
What kind of experience do you have?
Many years of applying mathematics in industry. I have children of my own who have been through the educational system, including university. I am now coaching students at Key Stage 3 (including Common Entrance), GCSE and A level (including Cambridge Pre-U). I also provide Tuition Services to a local Secondary School.
How much do you charge?
£35 to £40 per hour in the KT11 area or online. Please note that I do not normally charge for travel.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach at students' homes, but tuition can be done at my house. I can easily get to Cobham, Stoke d'Abernon, Oxshott, Fetcham, Bookham and Leatherhead in Surrey. I can also teach online.
When are you available?
Most of the time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Secondary school age, including Key Stage 3 and Common Entrance, GCSE and A level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, as at March 2014.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor online using the Twiddla whiteboard tool, which allows the student and tutor to share the computer screen and chat. The student must have a PC and microphone/speakers connected. A webcam can provide this, but Twiddla does not use the video - this is an important safeguarding control.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a Member of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently tutoring students of mixed abilities across Key Stage 3, GCSE and A level. This includes Common Entrance, GCSE Foundation and Higher to year 10 and 11 students; I am teaching the new A level (with Mechanics and Statistics) to year 12 and 13 students. I visit a local secondary school three times a week to coach groups of students at GGSE. I also have one student ONLINE!
Two of my students have dyspraxia.