Find UK Tuition

GCSE/A level Math/ Computing Social Networking Tutor in Huddersfield

Peter Nicholson A-level Maths Tutor (Huddersfield)

Peter Nicholson Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Bachelor of science. III(hons) Mathematics. Russian for scientists II(i)
  • Professional Qualification Postgraduate certificate of education. Master in education. Postgraduate diploma in computing
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
The most common reason pupils fail in mathematics is as a consequence of losing confidence. My earliest priority would be to remedy this by ensuring that lower order concepts had been fully understood.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Mathematics and Information Technology.  I am qualified in Visual Basic, object oriented programming.  I am familiar with HTML programming and have a keen interest in developing further my knowledge of Java, object oriented programming. Algebra. Statistics. Core 1, Core 2. Core 3, Core 4. Decision mathematics. Facebook.. Twitter. Linkedin. GCSE mathematics. A level mathematics. I have recently attended course in social networking and can now offer tuition in Facebook, Linkedin and Twitter.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Bachelor of Science (Mathematics III(hons), Russian for Scientists II(i)). Postgraduate certificate of education. Postgraduate diploma in computing. Master in Education. City & Guilds 226 electronic servicing. Analogue electronics. Merit. City & Guilds Visual Basic Level two.
What kind of experience do you have?
Two years teaching mathematics to A level in Jamaica. Eight years as mathematics teacher in charge of computer studies at a Bradford comprehensive school. Six months as GNVQ advanced co-ordinator in information technology at a further education college.
How much do you charge?
£25- £35.
Where do you teach?
Usually in the client's house. Could give tuition in own home (Holmfirth).  I  live up in the hills above the West Yorkshire Pennine village.  I am prepared to travel up to 20 miles from my house.  Barnsley, Huddersfield, Bradford, Leeds,, West Yorkshire, Manchester, Glossop, Oldham or Sheffield are within my radar!
When are you available?
Any time.  Usually evenings but am often available during the day or weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
GCSE and A level.  Ages 5 to 60!
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE. A level.  Degree level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Skype at a time convenient to client.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
British Computer Society.
Where and with whom did you train?
University of Leeds and Doncaster College of Education. University of Bradford.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have four GCSE mathematics students who are awaiting their results. (2014) Two of my students, studying at Greenhead College, have just finished the first year of the A level mathematics course.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Start revising early!!  A level students, please constantly check you have fully understood GCSE topics!