Find UK Tuition

Gerard - Advanced Maths / Statistics / 13/11+ Tutor - Blackheath

Gerard RM A-level Maths Tutor (South East London)

Gerard RM Gold Member

  • Blackheath Westcombe (SE3) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 06 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: gerard.fineview.academy
  • Can Travel To: Bexley, Bromley, Dartford, Lewisham, Southwark

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BSc(Eng) ACGI, MBA Finance, Dips Math, Stat, Econ, PGCE Maths
  • Professional Qualification 1st from Imperial College, 6 A Grade A Levels, 6 A Grade AS Levels
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS (formerly CRB) (Update Service: C4456425748)
  • Professional Membership Mensa and the ISPE IQ Societies
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified teacher who has achieved top grades and could help you do the same. I specialise in A-Level Maths, for which I am an Examiner, and tutees appreciate my ability to communicate my understanding.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am now focussing on A-Level Maths, Further Maths and Statistics, where there seems to be a shortage of tutors with the requisite understanding. However, I also seem to be popular as a general 13/11+ tutor. As a member of IQ Societies, and having helped my young son win his Lower School Chess Trophy, parents seem to have particular confidence in me in this area.

For A-Level, I am happy working closely to the specification of the examiners, using material they have approved. At the start of the year I would generally support my tutees in their schoolwork, rather than giving them an alternative scheme of work. As exams approach I would generally help prepare my tutees by working through past questions with them. My tutees are the bosses, however, and they tell me what they want to cover each session.

For 13/11+, I provide book-based teaching rather than assessment. I select books in agreement with parents, and then impart my knowledge and understanding to children as I review their homework. However, I do not agree with the modern emphasis on continual assessment. I do not believe that an object gets heavier the more times you weigh it.
Tell me about your qualifications.
PGCE Maths (incl. QTS) at Masters Level (2014)
Diplomas in Maths (2001), Statistics (2002) & Economics (2003)
MBA specialising in Finance from City University (1990)
BSc(Eng) ACGI 1st Class Honours from Imperial College (1984)
6 Top Grade A Levels: Maths, Further Maths, Chemistry, Physics (1981), Pure Maths, Statistics (2003)
6 Top Grade AS Levels: Pure Maths, Statistics, Mechanics, Economics (2003), Maths, Further Maths (2014)
Top Grade GCSE Maths (2013)
Member of Mensa (No. 173581) and the ISPE (No. 1251) (2001)
What kind of experience do you have?
I am a qualified teacher and A-Level Maths Examiner. I have achieved top grades and could help you do the same.

I have been tutoring A-Level students of Edexcel, OCR, OCR MEI and AQA for three years now, as well as students of IB Maths. I have tutored A-Level students from schools including Westminster School, Eltham College, Colfe's, St. Dunstan's, Dulwich College and the Kent Grammar Schools. I have tutored younger students from schools including City of London and Bromley High, and have helped younger children excel at entrance exams to Westminster School, City of London, Trinity College and Victoria College (Jersey). I have also tutored my own young son, at Dulwich Prep, from an early age.

I have always loved the challenge of tests and joined Mensa and the ISPE accordingly. As such, I see admissions tests as enjoyable challenges rather than sources of stress. I would hope to help you see your entrance exams in the same light.

I also love chess, and can teach the internationally recognised Steps Method to get children started on a firm foundation. With my help, my son won his Lower School Chess Prize.

I also love poetry.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 for 1 hour, £40 for 1.5 hours or £50 for 2 hours at my home. With the exams upon us, I am not able to travel or give a trial session at reduced cost.
Where do you teach?
I could reach all of South East London and North Kent. However, I am not keen on travel and have to charge a premium according to how far I have to travel from my home in Blackheath, SE3.
When are you available?
I can fit new tutees in but, because I am flexible, my availability changes all the time. You will have to contact me to make arrangements.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I seem to fill a niche with A-Level Maths, Further Maths and Statistics students, and younger students working towards 11+ and 13+ general entrance exams.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
7+, 8+, 11+, 13+, Common Entrance, A-Level Maths and Statistics, IB Maths & Statistics.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes: DBS Update Service ID C4456425748
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Not currently.