Find UK Tuition

Tim the Tutor - Maths, Science and English Tutor in East Grinstead

Tim the Tutor GCSE Maths Tutor (Redhill)

Tim the Tutor Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Good A Levels in Maths, Physics and Chemistry.
  • Professional Qualification Good GCSEs in Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English Language and English Literature.
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Full, enhanced DBS (CRB) check with "None recorded" in each section.
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm amazing at helping other people be amazing!!!

My aim is to increase everyone's understanding of everything!!!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I tutor the three main subjects that people seem to want tutoring in; Maths, Science and English. (Actually it's five subjects if you break the Science down into Biology, Chemistry and Physics.)

This means that I can potentially cover a different subject each week, or I can do two hours a week and cover a different subject in each hour. Therefore you don't have to find a separate tutor for each subject, or leave your child without the valuable one-to-one support in any of the core subjects.

And I teach these subjects from about age 10 upto the end of A Levels, so I give my students stability and continuity through all of those most stressful years of study.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Effective Education Centre - East Grinstead - 2007
* Teaching Modern Phonics - Pass
* Study Remedies Course - Pass

Southampton University - 1995-1998
* BSc. Degree - Psychology - 3rd
* 1 Unit - French - Pass

Welbeck College - Worksop - 1993-1994
* A Level - General Studies - A
* A Level - Chemistry - B
* A Level - Physics - B
* A Level - Maths - C

Oakwood Park Grammar - Maidstone - 1989-1992
* GCSE - Maths - A
* GCSE - Physics - A
* GCSE - French - A
* GCSE - English Language - B
* GCSE - English Literature - B
* GCSE - Chemistry - B
* GCSE - Biology - B
* GCSE - Electronics - B
* GCSE - History - C
What kind of experience do you have?
I trained as a tutor at the Effective Education Centre (EEC) in East Grinstead in 2007, and since then, I've been tutoring Maths, Science and English, both at the EEC and privately, for ages 5 to 50. However, I mostly help teenagers with their SATs, GCSEs and A Levels.

I started off just tutoring GCSEs, but due to the great demand for A Level tutoring, I revised (by tutoring myself in) the subjects I did for A Level and started tutoring them too. I can now get better grades in Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology A Level exams than I could get when I was at school. This shows what a great tutor I am!
How much do you charge?
I generally charge £35 per hour for face-to-face lessons and 25 for Skype.

I do sometimes give discounts for multiple students or more than one hour at a time or large advance bookings, but the size of the discount just depends on how I'm feeling that day... So ask me and we'll see what we can work out.

Also, if I have to travel a long way to get to you, I might charge extra for that.
Where do you teach?
I can either tutor students:
at a friend of mine's house on Cantelupe Road in East Grinstead,
or in their own home if it's not too far.

I generally cycle to my students, and I'm prepared to travel about half an hour between students, which is about five miles or so. That covers places like Felbridge, Crawley Down, Copthorne, Lingfield, Dormansland, Ashurst Wood and Forest Row.

I also tutor a lot by Skype.
When are you available?
I am available most of the time... unless I'm doing something else.

I don't teach at a school, so I'm happy to work with home-schooled children.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I've tutored students from about age 5 to 50. However, I mostly help students between 10 and 20 with their A Levels, GCSEs, 13+, 11+ and SATs.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I mostly help teenagers with their A Levels, GCSEs, 13+, 11+ and SATs.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a full, enhanced DBS check from 2012, with "None recorded" written in each section.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I've given many lessons by Skype, and I'm very willing to do more.