Find UK Tuition

Ruth Farrell - Maths & English Tutor in Burton on Trent, Derby, Stafford, Leicestershire

Ruth Farrell GCSE Maths Tutor (Derby)

Ruth Farrell

  • Burton (DE15) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 16 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I offer a professional, friendly service for all ages, in the fields of Mathematics and English. I set a learning plan when meeting the new learner, and we work towards set goals to strengthen ability. I also offer online lessons.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Mathematics from KS2 to the new GCSE standards and English Language/Literature from KS2 to 'A' level. I am especially used to tutoring GCSE students and have tutored students in the new GCSE mathematics exam subjects from Equation of a circle and iteration, etc. Plus, I have read most of the Literature reading from Animal Farm to Jane Eyre, etc.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons) in Education (2006)
Level 2 certificate for Adult Learner support (English and ESOL)
Certificate in Education. Nottingham Trent. (2004)
Safeguarding children and young people (2010)
Advanced Level English 2000
Level 5 Additional Diploma in Teaching Mathematics in the Lifelong Learning Sector
The Further and Adult Education Teachers' Certificate
MU123 Discovering Mathematics - Open University
Level 3 application of Number at Derby College
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching since 1999 in various establishments from Further Education, Adult Education and I taught some classes within 3 Primary schools. I have taught in the areas of Maths, English, Horticulture, Family learning (teaching school methods of Maths and English to parents), some I.T and general studies. I have worked with learners whose first language is not English. I have taught pre-school children to mature learners and find the mixture challenging and interesting.

I have been home tutoring since 2011 as my main form of work, and in that time, I have taught: KS2-3 Maths & English, KS4 - GCSE Maths & English. I am very familiar with the various exam boards for GCSE from OCR, Edexcel, AQA, WJEC and IGCSE Cambridge.

I have written online English GCSE documents for an international site, covering the main Literary novels in the GCSE curriculum. I have written resources for Jane Eyre, War of the Worlds, Great Expectations....the list goes on!
How much do you charge?
£22-25 per hour, and may include some petrol charge if the learner lives some distance from Burton. More than one child at a time with a fee negotiation - which I have done before with siblings or school friends learning together.
Where do you teach?
Teach from home and travel to the student for lessons. I live in Burton on Trent, Staffordshire - willing to travel in Derby/Ashby de la Zouch/Moira/Swadlincote and surrounding areas of Derbyshire and Leicestershire.
When are you available?
I work Monday to Saturdays, during the day and evenings. Please contact for day/ times availability as I have long standing sessions and things may change as new requests come in for tutoring. I also teach during the summer holidays and for those no longer in formal education but wish to continue their studies during the summer.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I prefer pupils from 7 yrs upwards. I have taught younger children since home tutoring, and may consider it again if asked. In Mathematics and English, I work with those with those in KS2 (7-11yrs) under the level 2 up to level 5, KS3 (11-14yrs) between 3-7 levels and KS4 (14-16yrs) at Foundation and Higher. I can tutor at Advanced level English also.

I am happy to work with adult learners who are trying to pass either Functional skills, GCSE's or similar. Or even adult learners who just wish to brush up on their skills without a test at the end!
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, from 2015.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have a skype account for online tutoring and I have just started to use 'scribblar' for more interactive lessons. I would be able to deliver GCSE Maths by showing diagrams and discussing for example, trigonometry whilst drawing the angles, etc.

For English, the lesson could involve looking a students previous essay work and highlighting areas that could be improved, suggestions on what to include such as; what is implied in the text and why. Then the student can do homework or exam style questions in their own time to be marked the following week in session time. Or we can simply complete exam style questions in session time to reveal areas where more marks can be secured for that high pass!
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am friendly and wish students to learn through positive learning which includes the student working in lessons with constructive feedback.