Find UK Tuition

Maths, English, Grammar School Tutor (West Midlands)

Melanie Phipps Key Stage 2 Maths Tutor (Birmingham)

Melanie Phipps Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc. (Hons) Psychology and Health Science
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Primary
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB checked
  • Professional Membership NASUWT
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I believe children make more progress when they enjoy what they are doing. My classes are a combination of fun, practical activities and independent learning.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I tutor Maths, English and Science for the 5 to 16 age range. I also tutor for the 11+ grammar school entrance exam. I am a specialist teacher and can deliver a multi-sensory programme of learning to dyslexic pupils.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BSc. (Hons) Psychology and Health Science and PGCE Primary. I am also a specialist teacher of dyslexic pupils. I have the PGCERT SpLD (Dyslexia).
What kind of experience do you have?
I am an experienced Primary School teacher who has taught in inner city and rural areas. I have had experience of teaching all year groups within the Primary phase. I am an experienced Tutor who teaches 1:1 and small groups.

I am a Primary School teacher who has over 20 years experience teaching in various schools in Birmingham, Sandwell, Dudley, Wolverhampton and Walsall. I have a vast experience of teaching Key Stage 1 and 2 SATs booster groups. I have also taught in a range of special schools.
How much do you charge?
1:1 Tuition (KS1 and 2)..................................£20 p/h + £5 petrol fee
Dyslexia 1:1 tuition..........................................£30 p/h
Eleven Plus Entrance Preparation...............£20 p/h +£5 petrol fee
Where do you teach?
I tutor 1:1 at student homes. I will travel 5 miles to the following areas: Old Hill, Cradley Heath, Sandwell, Dudley, Halesowen, Stourbridge, Pedmore, Lye
When are you available?
Available for 1:1 Tuition Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings between 4pm and 7pm
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach ages 5-16 years. (Key Stages 1,2,3 and 4) I teach the 11+ Entrance exam preparation.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I tutor students to prepare for KS1 and 2 SATs. Eleven Plus Entrance exam preparation.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date Enhanced CRB disclosure certificate.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
NASUWT
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained for my BSc (Hons) Psychology and Health Science at UWE in Bristol. I trained for my PGCE in Primary Education at the University of Wolverhampton. I trained for my PGCERT (Dyslexia) at Edge Hill University.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I believe that learning should be fun. My classes are a combination of fun, practical activities and independent learning.