Find UK Tuition

Darren Terrans – Maths / English Tutor - Durham & Darlington areas

Darren Terrans GCSE Maths Tutor (Darlington)

Darren Terrans Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Certificate in Education
  • Professional Qualification level 5 Numeracy Specialist (maths) and Level 4 Literacy specialist (English)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I hold an up to date DBS certificate
  • Professional Membership FPMS
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi, I'm Darren and I'm a full time Personal Tutor. I specialise in Maths and English and am skilled in KS3, GCSEs and Functional Skills so I tutor both teenagers and adults. Please feel free to check out my profile.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Maths and English as well as specialised subjects such as QTS Test preparation.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I gained my level 4 qualifications in teaching English in 2005/ 2006 in Newcastle. In 2008 I successfully completed Year 1 of the Level 4 CertEd with Greenwich University in London, a renowned UK University for Teacher Training. I was already employed in education and youth work at the time so I enrolled as a distance student visiting the campus a few times a year. My tutor came to me for lesson observations and one-to-one meetings. However, I had to postpone Year 2 of my studies due to redundancy. I returned to Greenwich in 2010 to complete my second year but instead decided to undertake the brand new higher level 5 CertEd qualification from year 1 in order to better benefit from evolving practices. I completed my Level 5 qualification in teaching mathematics in Newcastle in 2011.
What kind of experience do you have?
I am a fully qualified teacher and hold specialist teaching qualifications in Maths and English. My teaching experience covers KS3, GCSE and Functional Skills. I also specialise in QTS Tests and IELTS. Being highly flexible, I have offered a wide range of teaching services throughout my career including one-to-one, home tutoring, paired learning, family learning and large group learning to students of all ages.I have been teaching for over ten years. For 5 years I worked for a national youth charity mainly supporting young people in crises. This was a great job! It was very hard and very rewarding. Here I began to develop my passion for teaching. I also filled my spare time with private home tutoring. After my redundancy, I joined a renowned New Deal organisation and taught maths and English to students of all ages from 18 to 70. More recently I worked for the newly initialised DWP Work Program. It was very exiting being part of a brand new scheme from day one and I really enjoyed the challenge and success of supporting people back to work. I also broadened my home tutoring services and introduced family and group learning sessions. Now I am a full time freelance tutor, I enjoy the freedom of tailoring individual teaching sessions that really do reflect the needs of individual students.
How much do you charge?
I charge £25 per hour and offer discounted rates for group and family learning.
Where do you teach?
I live in Newton Aycliffe and am happy to travel to locations within County Durham and Darlington. Having worked and studied in Newcastle for 10 years, I also occasionally offer my services to Tyne and Wear students but usually only for 2 + hour sessions.
When are you available?
As I freelance full time I can be very flexible from early mornings to late nights and even weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach children aged 8 + as well as adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Maths and English for KS2, KS3, GCSE, Functional Skills, IELTs and the Professional QTS test.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I do. I believe that this is a very important check for parents and students to make. My DBS has recently been renewed and is dated June 2017.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
This is something I am very interested but I am only at the early stages of setting this up. I do however communicate regularly with my students through email.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the the Society for Education and Training and the FSB (Federation for Small Businesses).
Where and with whom did you train?
I gained my teaching qualifications through The University of Greenwich, Newcastle College and Tyne Metropolitan University.
Tell me about some of your current students.
All ages, all backgrounds, all abilities.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My success in teaching is based on my passion for teaching, belief in people's potential and my student-first flexible approach. I often create my own teaching resources tailored to the needs and interests of individual students and make a lot of use of interactive media. Adapting quickly to support the wide-ranging needs of students, I have developed an extensive range of teaching techniques and am fully confident with all modern approaches to student centred learning. Education is probably one of the most important investments that you will make in your life. To me, It doesn't matter where your abilities lie at the moment - it's where you want to be and the journey to it that's important. I always ensure that my students have ownership of their own learning and I always aim to encourage my students to take a lead role in developing their teaching plan.